Genjitsu de Rabukome Dekinai to Dare ga Kimeta? Vol. 1 Epilogue


Translation: learning2tl

Editing/Proofreading: chelly, Harris


Epilogue – Who Decided That Our Romantic Comedy Starts Now?

“And so, allow me to reintroduce my childhood friend Uenohara Ayano. Please continue to get along with her.”

“He doesn’t mean a word of that, though.”

“Th-This is why tsunderes are—!”

Despite being an Accomplice, you’ve been very stubborn from the start!

After successfully completing the actual Ouen Cheer Performance for the Soukoukai send-off rally.

Together with the group of Characters, Uenohara and I were attending a Closing Party Event at an organic food restaurant near our school.

Just the other day, the Uenohara Ayano Childhood Friend-ification Event had succeeded without incident.

The characters, in particular, had all responded favorably. So, I decided to add Uenohara to the group for real this time, and that’s why we were going around exchanging greetings again.

“A-Anyway. I know we’ve caused you a lot of worry and trouble, but I would appreciate your understanding.”

“It’s all the fault of this loser and idiot ronin, though.”

“Gununu…!”

I get it. You’re mad, right?! You’re furious about the contents of the “Compilation of Uenohara Ayano’s Setting Material” that I forced on you!

“Now, now, class rep. Let’s leave it at that. Of course, Ayano-chan would’ve been worried about you. You can’t blame her for being a little overzealous.”

Tokiwa smiled at me with a mellow grin.

Uenohara suddenly became sullen and lowered her head at Tokiwa.

“…Tokiwa-kun, I’m sorry for making you worry. You’ve been doing all sorts of things to help out, right? I really appreciate it.”

Yikes. As usual, she adapts her character so well…

“No, no, no. It’s fine, it’s fine. I have a childhood friend too, so I know how you feel!”

Tokiwa modestly waved his hands from side to side.

“Thanks… Can I still count on that tournament invitation?”

“O-Of course!”

Tokiwa nodded his head happily.

Ahh… She’s even cleverly trying to recover the foreshadowing. That’s why she’s a monster of communication ability.

“You too, Mei… Let’s continue to get along.”

“Haha, you don’t have to be so formal.”

Kiyosato-san responded with a smile, waving one hand in the air.

This turned out to be a happy miscalculation, but as a result of Uenohara’s exceptional Face-to-face Investigation skills, it became clear that Kiyosato-san’s recent behavior was an attempt to “expand her circle of friends as she settled into her new life.

According to Uenohara, who picked up the information, she hadn’t made any moves to affiliate herself with any particular group. She was making equal contact with all of them.

She’s even participating in this Closing Party Event as a matter of course. For the time being, I felt relieved knowing that it didn’t seem like she would be surrounded by other groups.

Also, one more thing. We also confirmed that the plan Kiyosato-san mentioned after the cheer practice was a dinner meeting with the Katsunuma group.

Apparently, the meeting was arranged by Tokiwa at her request. The reason they left at the same time was to join in it.

It seems that Katsunuma, the other related party, had given strict orders not to let outsiders—likely referring to me—interfere. As a result, he had to leave in that manner.

It turned out to be no big deal, and I had been an idiot for panicking from the unexpected.

Although I still can’t explain her behavior at the cherry blossom trees… But it should be fine to just steadily fill in the gaps little by little. I’ve learned this time that there’s no point in rushing things.

“But to think that the two of you were childhood friends… Nagasaka-kun, you know, you didn’t have to hide it.”

Kiyosato-san puffed out her cheeks and spoke grumpily.

Ah, there it is again. The romantic comedy demo. Cute. Wait, no.

“S-Sorry. I just couldn’t find the right time to mention it…”

“Even that thing about being a ronin. You should have told us about it earlier. We wouldn’t have treated you any different from anyone else, you know?”

“That’s… I’m really sorry.”

Hearing Kiyosato-san say that to me so naturally, I was flooded with remorseful feelings.

“That’s right, class rep. You’re you, class rep, so you shouldn’t worry about it at all! Besides, we’re practically the same age, right?”

“Oh, yeah. I was born in March, so that’s kind of true… I guess?[1]

“That makes you only a month older than Mei-chan, doesn’t it? Since I was born in July, I’m even further away in age from Mei-chan. So, it’s okay!”

With a friendly smile on his face, Tokiwa spoke matter-of-factly.

I could see that he was trying to make me feel accepted, even bringing up mysterious arguments. I couldn’t help but feel a warm sensation in my chest.

I had prepared myself for the possibility that there would be more reluctance due to the difference in school years… But I guess I was thinking too much. At the very least, none of the Characters seemed to care about it.

“Guys… Thank you so much.”

“There’s nothing senpai-like about Kouhei from the start. He’s an idiot, a loser, lacks common sense, and is clumsy. He doesn’t seem older at all, you know?”

“Couldn’t you read the mood a little?”

You’ve been interrupting me all day!

As we were having our usual exchange, I noticed that everyone around us was looking at us with a warm look on their faces.

Huh? What is it? What’s going on?

“You two are really close. It feels like you’ve been together forever.”

“Huh, really?”

That had been Tokiwa, speaking in a soft-spoken voice.

Uenohara narrowed her eyes in annoyance and waved her hand from side to side.

“No, there’s nothing like that at all.”

“Getting embarrassed, Ayano?”

With that, this time Kiyosato-san was the one laughing, with a face that seemed to suit the onomatopoeia of “nishishi.”

“No. I’m totally serious.”

“Sheesh, you’re so shy. You’re just trying to hide your embarrassment, aren’t you?”

“…”

Oh, crap.

She’s making those I’d like to deny it, but I can’t say anything because of the tsundere setting interfering. I want to deny it somehow so, for now, I’ll kill Nagasaka eyes.

“…Anyway, let’s stop the skit here, okay?”

As I was trembling in fear, Torisawa spoke out, having been watching the exchange with a grin on his face.

Surprisingly, Torisawa was the one who was most pleased with the course of events this time.

But rather than liking the romantic comedy-like stuff about childhood friends and whatnot, he said he enjoyed my showy antics.

As usual, it’s difficult to get a proper grasp of his unique standards. But given that he’s participating in this event, I’ve decided that for the time being it’s fine.

“Now then, today’s my treat! Eat whatever you want, guys!”

I clapped my hands together and announced in a cheerful voice.

After all, I ended up putting the fine from last time on hold. Today’s will be a lavish feast.

“Thank you for the treat, class rep! For now, I’ll go with the loin cutlet curry. Large!”

“Ah, okay. I think I’ll have this ‘balanced plate’ thing. The soup set.”

“I like the arrabbiata.”

“Chocolate banana parfait, pumpkin chiffon, and assorted ice cream for me.”

“Yes, yes, please wait a moment. To the last person, show a little more restraint, would you?”

I got up to make the order.

After walking a few steps down the wooden corridor, I turned around to look in the distance at the Characters who were having a good time in their seats.

My reality is still nowhere near being a romantic comedy.

By the usual romantic comedy standards, we’ve only progressed to the point where the conditions have just barely been established, and romcom-like romantic comedy developments have been practically nonexistent.

But… It’s normal in my romantic comedy that things don’t work out so well.

That’s why I’m going to accomplish what I can, as best I can.

Because that’s what it takes to make a romantic comedy happen in this reality.

Also, I won’t mess up so easily anymore.

“Kouhei… Is there something wrong? You’re just standing there all spaced out.”

Because there’s someone by my side.

I have an Accomplice who will walk with me like this, after all.

“…Nah, nothing’s wrong. I was just renewing my determination.”

“Ah, is that so?”

Uenohara bluntly replied in her usual emotionless voice.

“Actually, I’m a little bit curious about this, but… Uenohara, did you just start calling me on a first-name basis?”

“I wonder? But what I call you doesn’t matter.”

“Don’t be stupid. From a romantic comedy perspective, addressing the protagonist by a different name is an important parameter that represents a change in favorability towards them…”

“Ah, yes, yes. Creepy, creepy.”

Uenohara exasperatedly raised both hands in surrender and turned her back on me.

Tch. This is the problem with amateurs…

Hmm, well… Hold on.

“…If it doesn’t matter, then why did you intentionally pick this timing?”

Offering no reply to the words directed at her back, Uenohara turned half her body around to face me and spoke.

“Don’t take this the wrong way, you big, stupid idiot.”

She then smiled wickedly.

Ah, damn. Come on.

Just the slightest of moments later, Uenohara returned to her usual face, then silently walked back to the others.

I sighed, then started to move forward again.

I’m sure there will be fun and excitement, and occasionally, even sadness or conflict.

But in the end, there will be a happy ending.

Such days will continue.

I’ll continue them.

After all, my romantic comedy has just begun.


[1] In principle, the Japanese school year begins in April and ends in March of the following year. Students are divided in a similar fashion.


Previous (Vol. 1 Ch. 5 Pt. 3) | Next (Vol. 1 Backstage 2)

7 thoughts on “Genjitsu de Rabukome Dekinai to Dare ga Kimeta? Vol. 1 Epilogue”

    1. Straight up… He’s already been privileged to Ayano-chan’s genuine smile and jer wicked smile, he doesn’t know what a lucky b*stard he is lol!

      Like

  1. For anyone wondering, in Japanese the onomatopoeia of “nishishi” is a horse whinny and it can be used as a reference to a person whose laugh sounds like a horse neighing (i.e., neeheehee), that’s how it’s being used here, Mei-chan’s laugh is like a horse neighing.

    Translators thanks for your work, I’m excited for the next volume!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment