Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 1 Chapter 13


Translation: Chelly

Editing/Proofreading: Henry, Scarlet


Chapter 13

The intercom buzzed.

I realized I’d grown accustomed to receiving someone aside from couriers and my landlord.

Without a second thought, I flung open the door.

“You know, it feels bizarre that I’ve been opening the door regularly lately.”

Akira stood there, clad entirely in black.

“I’ve gotten used to a landmine girl barging in.”

“What the hell? That’s creepy.”

She chuckled and walked in without asking.

She removed her shoes and ran to the window, saying, “Cigarette timeee!”

I smiled wryly as I watched her. Then I gulped as I remembered what I had to say to her.

“Hey, Akira.”

“Yeah?”

“The live concert is over, and the plan was successful… I guess this is goodbye.”

Akira lit a cigarette with a Zippo lighter and smoked without saying anything.

After a few moments, she spoke.

“Maybe?”

She chuckled.

“Well, it is.”

She looked sad when I answered back.

“Man, we’ve been getting along so well.”

“You know it’s pointless for you to be with me anymore.”

As I put it into words like that, my heart ached.

But as I’ve said… there’s no reason for Akira and me to meet privately like this any longer.

Yesterday’s concert quickly became the talk of the town.

The press was having a field day, and Taihei Ozu was under intense scrutiny.

It was a resounding success. There was nothing more I could do to help her.

Akira shook her head in response.

“That’s not true. Yuu, you’ve always inspired me.”

“…Well, you’ve always inspired me, too.”

When things go wrong, when times are tough, idol fans remember their idols, who also work hard to achieve their dreams.

That’s what keeps us going.

That’s how we’ve managed to live our lives.

Therefore, it should remain as such.

Putting my feelings into words helped me sort them out.

My mind will be at ease if I ignore the pain in my heart.

I believe I can say my final goodbye with dignity.

But Akira spoke as if she was still trying to wrap her head around things.

“I smoke a lot, drink a lot, and vomit a lot though… Didn’t you get turned off?”

“Yeah, I definitely did.”

“Deny it, at least.”

“And worse, you’re my idol.”

Akira looked at me bemusedly and blinked a few times.

Then I remembered what she told Kasugai.

“Although, ‘If no fan finds out about it, then everything’s fine, right?’”

Her mouth fell open as I quoted her.

“Ha-ha.”

She laughed.

“But you’re a fan of mine, aren’t you?”

“I am. Always.”

“But you’ve seen a lot of my worst characteristics.”

“I don’t mind.”

Akira’s cheeks puffed up as she saw me calmly shake my head.

“Jeez… that’s not what I’m saying.”

“…?”

She glared at me as I tilted my head.

“My point is… right now, I’m not an idol, and you know who I am….”

“Yeah…?”

“Do you think you’ll be able to make friends with a landmine girl like me?”

“Huh?”

I was puzzled. Akira blushed and started blabbering.

“Come on! Let’s be friends! It’s not like I’m asking you to be my boyfriend or anything this time, so there’s nothing wrong about it! Even idols make friends, you know?! It’s totally alright to have a drinking buddy! Now tell me what’s wrong with that!”

“Hold on, I haven’t said anything yet….”

I chuckled and nodded.

A friend.

That doesn’t sound so bad.

“Okay, fine… If you put it that way.”

“…What’s up with that response?”

Akira rolled her eyes, frowned, and tapped her phone furiously.

Then she showed me the screen.

It was a selfie of the two of us. I felt nostalgic.

In the photo, I was trying to get away from her as she looked at the camera with a perfect smile.

Come to think of it, this was the beginning of my relationship with her.

“Say it properly! I’ll leak this if you don’t!”

I let out a sigh.

She’s as pushy as ever.

“…You wouldn’t do something like that. Aren’t you Akira Sezai?”

Akira remained still and pouted.

With another sigh, I rose from the carpet and approached her.

“H-huh, what…?”

“Let’s not do things that way anymore, Akira.”

I quickly took her phone and deleted the picture.

“Ah! Why’d you delete it?”

“I’d love to be friends with you.”

“…Huh?”

“I’d love to be friends with you. So there’s no need for blackmail.”

It was undoubtedly arrogant of me to say, “Okay, fine.”

In fact, I should be the one pleading with a world-class idol like Akira Sezai to befriend me.

Her face flushed when I looked her in the eyes.

And…

“You’re so close right now. Are you okay?”

She asked.

I huffed.

I realized how close I was to her when she told me.

But…

“…I don’t know. I think I’m fine.”

I didn’t feel any physical discomfort or an instinctive desire to move away.

Blushing profusely, she stared at me for a few seconds.

And then…

“Hey, now that we’re friends.”

“Yeah?”

“Let’s kiss.”

“Huh? …Mnn?!”

The next thing I knew, Akira’s lips were pressing against mine.

She kissed aggressively. It hurt when my teeth collided with hers.

As I was being attacked, my vision became blurry, and I shoved her away from me.

“Wh-what did you just do?!”

“I-I kissed you…!”

“Wh-why?!”

“Because I wanted to!”

Akira said that as if dismissing me, then returned to the window, red-faced.

She then lit a new cigarette.

I opened and closed my mouth like a fish breathing, then brought my fingers to my lips.

Her lips were very soft, and there was a faint tobacco scent lingering on them.

It’s also inconceivable for an idol to kiss a fan.

Such thoughts raced through my mind.

But… since she’s a “landmine girl” at the moment, I guess it’s fine…?

I was utterly perplexed and felt as if my head were spinning.

“…One of my dreams has come true.”

“Huh?”

“We’re friends from now on.”

Akira smiled as she regained her composure.

“Join me for a drink.”

“…If you throw up, I swear I won’t let you drink in my house again.”

She chuckled and nodded.

“Ha-ha, I promise I won’t.”

“We’ll see about that…”

We both laughed out loud.

After a few tumultuous days… Akira and I finally became friends.

I never imagined becoming friends with my idol in this way, but it wasn’t a bad feeling, and it was more than I had expected.


Previous (Volume 1 Chapter 12) | Next (Volume 1 Epilogue)

3 thoughts on “Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 1 Chapter 13”

Leave a comment