Ashita, Hadashi de Koi Vol. 1 Ch. 1 Pt. 1


Translation: chelly

Editing/Proofreading: henrylin22, Scarlet


Chapter 1

Part 1

Three years flew by in the blink of an eye, and high school was over. After the graduation ceremony, I sat on a bench near the main gate, remembering the day of the entrance ceremony.

“That didn’t take long…”

A lustrous scent that dissipated into the air. The late-afternoon sun grazed against my uniform.

The countless petals of cherry blossoms dancing in the spring breeze drew my attention.

Pale pink petals undulated, swirled, and flowed like living creatures.

The darkness of the graduates’ uniforms stood out well against that hue. A sense of elation hung in the air, like the final scene in a movie.

“It’s like a well-written comic book.”

I said to Makoto, standing next to me.

“I’ve been playing scenes from the first and last chapter on a loop. They could be the only saving grace in this high school journey.”

“Apart from that, everything else is tossed out the window.”

Makoto, while admiring the scenery, laughed, clearly amused.

“Events and high school-like happenings—poof.”

She sneered at me, her short golden hair swaying.

A petite body and a stylish uniform.

The entire ensemble, which is generally against school rules, complemented her surprisingly mature face.

“Well… I guess.”

“But it wasn’t so bad. I’m talking about you squandering your youth.”

“Hmm…”

Makoto laughed again, but I was actually quite depressed.

I wanted to spend my time more meaningfully. Studies and club activities. Friendship… and romance. I wanted to do my best with those things and make the best of my high school days.

However, it was as Makoto had said. For three years, I couldn’t really work on anything, couldn’t give my all when the occasion demanded it and spent the rest of my life procrastinating.

My grades were terrible. I didn’t have many friends. I only have a few fond memories.

I’ve always been a slacker since I was little, and it’s cost me opportunities. I have no right to complain because I deserved it.

“I would’ve preferred a more exciting and memorable three years…”

“I understand your desire for it. But not everyone is capable of doing so.”

“Only a few, I suppose…”

It’s cliché, but I think “being able to do your best at something” is a talent.

There are those who can and those who can’t. A large portion of it is likely genetic, though some may be acquired.

Of course, focusing on it won’t help, and it’s no reason not to try. But I just had no talent.

“The gifted ones are seriously amazing…”

“Yeah, they’re way out of our league.”

“They work their butts off endlessly.”

“How do they manage it?”

As we gossiped, I knew we were thinking of the same “girl.”

Makoto and I were members of the Astronomy Club. That girl was also a member.

Nito.

Chika Nito.

After the most grueling three years of any high school student’s life, she achieved success.

Now she’s beyond our reach.

She didn’t attend the graduation ceremony today. She was probably too preoccupied with her career to bother attending such an event.

That’s no surprise. She’s moved out of her parents’ house and is now living in a downtown dormitory. She also went to school between work. She said all this in an interview I saw online.

I remember meeting her for the first time on the day of the entrance ceremony. It was near the main gate.

—Oh, I’m so sorry! I was so fascinated by the cherry blossoms I could see nothing in front of me.

—Hi. I’m Chika Nito.

I swear I heard her voice just now.

It was the same lines as that day—her pleasant voice echoed in my ears.

But then…

“According to reports, Nito-senpai now has over two hundred million views!”

Her voice was drowned out by Makoto’s.

“…Huh.”

“She was also named as one of the candidates for this year’s Kouhaku[1].”

“Damn. She’s at that level?”

“I’ve also heard that an international tour has been planned.”

“Wooow…”

As I stood in awe, I tried to imagine Nito’s various expressions.

Laughing, crying, and getting angry.

Expressions I should have witnessed during our time in the club room after school.

But it just didn’t work out that way…

—Meguri-kun.

Meguri Sakamoto-kun.

—Hmm, that’s a nice name.

I thought I heard her voice again as it faded into the wind.

*

“Well then, thanks for the past two years.”

“Don’t mention it. Somehow, I’ve got a feeling you and I will still end up getting involved with each other in the future.”

“You’re right. We might even end up being classmates in uni.”

“Or you might end up being my junior.”

“That’s something I’d like to avoid…”

I had one final lighthearted conversation with Makoto, who saw me off at the front gate.

This spring, I’ll be a ronin[2].

I didn’t get into any of the universities I applied to because I didn’t put enough effort into studying for the entrance exams. I brought this on myself. But, as I said before, it would be too much for me to bear if I became Makoto’s junior. If that were to happen, my last ounce of self-esteem would completely disappear.

The wind blew through the area as soon as I sighed.

The petals obscured my vision—once again, I could smell the nostalgic scent of…

“You’re thinking about Nito-senpai, aren’t you?”

Makoto hit the bull’s eye.

“…Well, you know.”

“So pathetic. He’s still hung up on his ex-girlfriend.”

“Of course, I am.”

“I guess it can’t be helped if it’s someone like her.”

Makoto was right. Also, Nito and I were together for a while.

Looking back… it was probably love at first sight. I ran into her near the main gate on the day of the entrance ceremony and instantly fell in love. It didn’t take long for me to confess my feelings for her, expecting my heart to be broken.

The beautiful long hair, the smile that bloomed like a flower, the sound of light footsteps, and the soft blue pedicure are all firmly etched in my mind.

“Let’s just try to forget about it and move on.”

Makoto then smiled, her face showing an uncharacteristically gentle expression.

“From being the most popular person in school to becoming a nationally recognized musician. She’s always lived on a different wavelength to us.”

“…True.”

She was right—Nito was way out of my league.

I hate to admit it, but I’m just a regular guy, slightly below average.

My face is ordinary, as are my personality and abilities, and I’m a bit of a nerd. So I’m not sure why Nito, popular with all the guys, agreed to go out with me. I’m sure plenty of other guys made advances on her, so I’m curious why she chose me.

I sighed and looked up at the school building.

My high school years are nearing the end of the epilogue.

Ending in regret. How did my high school journey end up like this…?

“…Hmm?”

Makoto sounded as if she had noticed something odd.

“Look, everyone’s acting weird.”

I followed her gaze.

“You’re right.”

Everyone had been conversing and taking pictures and videos of each other just moments ago.

But they were now gossiping, with worried expressions on their faces.

Some were staring at their phones, while others were typing and swiping furiously.

“Is this for real?”

Someone exclaimed.

“Come to think of it, I haven’t seen her in a while.”

Another person stated.

I’m not sure what’s going on. Was there a big incident?I hope it wasn’t a disaster or something.

“…No way! Why?!”

A loud voice suddenly rose from among the graduates.

It was a petite, flamboyant female student. Her lips were twitching.

She seemed familiar. As I recall, she had known Nito since childhood.

“Since the 20th?! That was a week ago! I haven’t heard anything!”

As if a catalyst, disorder erupted instantly, and the uproar grew even louder.

“What the hell’s going on?”

“…Senpai.”

While I was trying to make sense of things, Makoto beckoned me, looking at her phone.

“Look…”

She then showed me the screen.

I absentmindedly read the displayed news article, and…

[Breaking News] Singer Nito disappears and leaves a suicide note?

March 27 – Singer Nito (18) was unreachable for days, according to her agency, Integrate Mag.

According to the press release, they lost contact with Nito after a rehearsal in Tokyo on March 20, and when they paid her a visit at her home, where she lives alone, they discovered a letter addressed to an acquaintance.

The singer has been filed as a missing person, and the Metropolitan Police Department is actively searching for her whereabouts.

Nito is a singer-songwriter who made her debut in high school during her freshman year after a music cover of hers went viral on an online video-sharing platform.

Her enigmatic presence has made her popular among the younger generation.

Her new songs have received critical acclaim not only in Japan but also internationally, and she was scheduled to perform in the US, the UK, China, and other countries.

“…Huh?”

I was in denial.

I understood what was in the article. I knew the implications.

But I couldn’t bring myself to accept…

That Nito disappeared.

That they haven’t heard from her in a week.

That she left a suicide note…

“S-so, how about we try calling her?”

Makoto navigated her phone.

Her fingers twitched slightly, and I could see she was agitated.

“You see, it may just be a false alarm…”

Makoto looked up Nito’s phone number and called.

She held the phone to her ear, waited a few moments, and then…

“…It’s no good. I can’t get through.”

She raised her head and leaned in closer.

“What are we going to do now…?”

I couldn’t answer.

All I could think about were my recollections of Nito.

She was always smiling. She was always working hard. She was sweet, yet she could be obnoxious.

Looking forward to our high school life.

Best wishes for the next three years, Meguri-kun.

Her voice echoed in my thoughts.

“…Senpai? Where are you going?!”

The next thing I knew, I was walking away.

My feet seemed to drag me toward a “certain spot.”

It’s probably not the time for such things and going there wouldn’t make any sense. Yet, somehow, I couldn’t stop.

I wanted to feel Nito’s presence, even if only a little.

“Hey, Senpai! Wait!”

I walked back into the school building in a daze, ignoring Makoto, who had followed me.


[1] NHK Kouhaku Uta Gassen, more commonly known simply as Kouhaku, is an annual New Year’s Eve television special produced by Japanese public broadcaster NHK. The program divides the most popular music artists of the year into competing teams of red and white. The “red” team or akagumi is composed of all female artists (or groups with female vocals), while the “white” team or shirogumi is all male (or groups with male vocals). At the end of the show, judges and the audience vote to decide which group performed better. The honor of performing on it is strictly by invitation, so only the most successful singing acts in the Japanese entertainment industry can perform.

[2] In Japan, a ronin is a student who has graduated from middle school or high school but has failed to enter a school at the next level, and consequently is studying outside of the school system for entrance in a future year.


Previous (Vol. 1 Prologue) | Next (Vol. 1 Ch. 1 Pt. 2)

3 thoughts on “Ashita, Hadashi de Koi Vol. 1 Ch. 1 Pt. 1”

Leave a comment