Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 1 Epilogue


Translation: Chelly

Editing/Proofreading: Henry, Scarlet


Epilogue

Idols suck.

I still believe so.

The media coverage of Cvex has been a whirlwind since the fiasco at Akira Sezai’s concert.

Various rumors circulated, and the officials involved in the misconduct were revealed one by one.

As promised, Akira’s manager, Mao Ashida, had me write the first article.

Cvex executives abuse their authority and prey on idols!

With such a sensational headline, the Shukan Buntou, which featured the article I wrote, had its best sales in a long time.

“Come here for a moment, Kasugai.”

“Huh?”

The editor-in-chief called out to me one day.

“What is it?”

I was about to go outside for a smoke, so I sounded slightly irritated.

“Come now, it won’t be long.”

He said, chuckling.

“Is it true that you have a direct connection to Akira Sezai?”

He quietly inquired as soon as we stepped outside the office.

I wonder who told him that… but I was so wasted at the celebration I may have mentioned it to myself.

“…Well, it’s not like we can easily communicate with one another.”

When I responded, the editor-in-chief’s face brightened dramatically.

“Oh, but can you contact her?”

“Yes, of course.”

He happily clapped his hands.

“Then you should write a feature story about that idol!”

“Huh?”

“Don’t ‘Huh?’ me! No other gossip magazine can conduct an exclusive interview with Akira Sezai. Go ahead and grill her about that legendary concert.”

“Hmm… I see. Well… if that’s what you want.”

When the editor-in-chief noticed me scratching my head in response, he raised his eyebrows.

“What? You should be happy. You said you were tired of chasing scandalous gossip.”

“…Well, I suppose so.”

“Okay then, I’ll leave it to you. Work on it as soon as possible.”

I squinted at the editor-in-chief as he returned to the office, having said everything he needed.

“Tch.”

Clicking my tongue, I made my way to the parking lot.

I got into my Jeep Wrangler and fired it up.

Then I lit a cigarette.

The brand was “hi-lite.” I bought a different one than the “LUCKY STRIKE” I normally smoke on a whim… It didn’t taste as bad as I expected.

“…Fucking idols.”

I opened the glove compartment under the dashboard and took out something, muttering my usual words.

It was a photograph of Akira performing on stage from that “legendary concert,” and I have it developed somehow… It looked good.

I knew the “other photo” was in the compartment, but I didn’t take it out as I placed Akira’s photograph back in.

“…You know.”

I muttered quietly, then sighed.

“I’m confident you’ll make it all the way through.”

Realizing what I’d just said, I gasped.

I remembered how I once dreamed of being an idol.

I’m probably rooting for her because of that.

The child in me wants to believe in dreams.

No, that’s not it.

I’ve “given up long ago,” as Akira Sezai put it. But I want to witness someone fulfill an earnest dream in their heart.

Maybe… that’s all there is to it.

Idols suck.

But…

I thought it would be more interesting to see more of these “dreams.”

With a camera hung around my neck, I stepped on the gas pedal and drove away.


Previous (Volume 1 Chapter 13) | Next (Volume 2 Illustrations)

2 thoughts on “Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 1 Epilogue”

Leave a comment