Genjitsu de Rabukome Dekinai to Dare ga Kimeta? Vol. 1 Backstage 1


Translation: learning2tl

Editing/Proofreading: chelly


Backstage 1 – Foreshadowing Unseen to an Idiot

“Oh, I see, I see. Sorry for calling out to you so suddenly.”

In a passage where the sun was setting and it was getting dark, I waved my hand slightly and smiled.

“Ah, that’s okay. For someone in another class, you sure know a lot about me.”

The guytarget glanced at me while fiddling with his firmly set hair.

He may have thought he looked perfect, but the mismatch between his still innocent features and the rest of his body gave the conspicuous feeling that he was making his high school debut. Well, according to Nagasaka’s information, he used to be a sportsman with a buzz cut, so I guess that’s actually true.

“Ah, I heard about you from Nagasaka, and I’ve seen you many times before.”

It’s not a lie. More or less. I saw him behind Nagasaka at the Ouen Cheer Practice. Just for a moment.

Besides, to reduce the strangeness of making contact, the quick and easy way is to make it look like you’ve always been interested.

“Seriously? Could it be that you’re interested in me?!”

Yeah, even the fact that he immediately jumped to that conclusion is just like the informationdata.

“Huh…? Ew, you’re so self-conscious.”

I lightly pushed away his approaching shoulders. I was frank enough to not get his hopes up too much, but not so frank that it would make him feel uncomfortable. While I was at it, I didn’t forget to lay the groundwork.

“I mean, do you say that to every girl who talks to you?”

“Hahaha, no way. Only cute girls!”

“Then you definitely said the same thing to Mei, right? You’ve been getting along well lately, haven’t you?”

“Ah, well, Mei-chan… She has that Yeah, no way feeling, you know?”

Ah, I see. So that’s the interpretation you get from dealing with that girl.

No. Maybe—

“…Well, not that I care. Okay, later~”

“Ah, at least give me your contact inf—”

I quickly disappeared downstairs before he could say anything else.

I had been connecting with all sorts of people and was starting to see a lot of trends.

As expected, it was undoubtedly true that Mei had hung out with several groups. However, it didn’t look like she had become close with any of them, and it seemed like she would always draw a line.

That behavior seemed to be not to get along with everyone, but to instead not get along with just one group.

From there, as I deciphered Mei’s actions, I could vaguely make out her objective.

However, assuming things were as I expected, there was then this feeling of discomfort about how it was only in her own Class 4 that she had a lot of contact with boys. If she wanted to follow her objective, then if anything, in my opinion, she should have been proactively talking to the girls.

Thinking that this feeling of discomfort might be the key to the truth, I had tried to center my investigation on Class 4. But so far, I was unable to get any clear results.

However, up until now, the situation hasn’t even presented an opportunity. And there’s no doubt that I’m making progress. It would be good to report back when I have more solid information and rethink how to handle things from here on out.

Making that decision, I started walking towards my next destination.

Now then, it’s time for the real thing. Him.

Seeing as how they got going at the same time, it’s reasonable to assume that there was something that prompted him. Even if nothing comes out of this, if it deepens our friendship then it won’t be completely useless.

Suddenly, I wondered if I was doing something pointless.

What I had been assigned to do was a routine Patrol Investigation. I hadn’t been asked to carry out any other actions.

But… the fact that he wanted me to do a thorough investigation meant that there had to be some kind of reason behind it.

If that’s what it takes to get his plan done, then so be it.

Besides, it seems like I have a part to play in Face-to-face Investigations, so given the current situation in which we lack data, it makes sense for me to take charge of the areas that Nagasaka can’t cover.

Well, this amount isn’t too much trouble.

It’s a good way to verify the things that have been weighing on my time. If you think about it, killing two birds with one stone is a low-cost method.

It was in that casual manner that I continued my investigation.

However, perhaps because my senses were paralyzed from encountering him all the time…

I had completely forgotten the basic premise that what I was doing was stupid in the first place.


Previous (Vol. 1 Ch. 3 Pt. 4) | Next (Vol. 1 Ch. 4 Pt. 1)

7 thoughts on “Genjitsu de Rabukome Dekinai to Dare ga Kimeta? Vol. 1 Backstage 1”

  1. So Uenohara is really “doing” this project and not just toying with MC Arrrghhh… that’s so boring and annoying! I’d been seriously hoping she was using him as pet distraction/research project (more interesting in my opinion). She was such a mysterious character up until now what a letdown. Now the endgame seems to be they mess around with this project and fall in love, rom-com game, set and match. Ruining my thrill but I’m not dropping this as there’s still room for twists and turns in particular re Mei-Chan and the musician ikemen.

    Like

Leave a comment