Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 2 Chapter 12


Translation: Chelly

Editing/Proofreading: Henry, Scarlet


Chapter 12

After everything had settled, time flew by quickly.

I was summoned less often by Mao-san and resumed my usual university life, occasionally helping her.

Meanwhile, Akira stopped coming by my apartment altogether.

According to Mao-san, she rigorously followed her daily training schedule, quickly returning home afterward, and lived a disciplined life.

As her concert and Ripqle’s reunion drew closer, I felt a thrill tearing off each page from my daily calendar.

Then, a week before the much-awaited event, Akira visited me for the first time in a long while.

I was reading the latest issue of Shukan Buntou when the intercom rang. 

The headline of the article I was reading was “Akira Sezai and Anju Majima’s Secret Meeting: A Sign of Ripqle’s Comeback?” 

It seemed Kasugai-san had done a good job. 

Although I was uncertain about Mao-san’s perspective, I believed the article wasn’t sufficiently critical to justify intervention from FairPro.

In fact, it might even be beneficial for them.

“Oh, that article. I’ve read it.”

Akira commented, glancing at the magazine on the table.

“Anyway…”

Her gaze then shifted away, seemingly indifferent. 

Then she approached me and asked.

“Yuu, can you keep this for me?” 

“Huh…?”

She handed me her beloved Zippo lighter. 

“I’m quitting smoking until the next concert.”

Perplexed, my gaze shifted from the lighter to Akira.

She impatiently grabbed my hand and firmly pressed the lighter into my palm. 

“Keep it!”

“Uh, sure, I’ll hold onto it, but…”

I gave her a questioning look.

She can deliver outstanding performances, whether she smokes or not. I’m well aware of that, and I’m sure she’s confident about it too.

“…Anju is practicing like her life depends on it. I always practice hard, but to match her commitment, I thought this is the least I could do.”

“…I see.”

I couldn’t help but smile.

“…Why are you grinning like that?”

“Well, I just think…it’s nice.”

“What is?”

“The bond between you two.”

I said sincerely.

Akira blushed and squirmed awkwardly. 

“Stop it, it’s embarrassing.”

She then moved away from me and sat on the sofa. 

“But are you sure it’s okay?”

She just glanced at me.

“What do you mean?”

“Well, didn’t you say something like, ‘I can’t imagine a life without alcohol and cigarettes’?”

Her eyes narrowed. 

“Of course, it’s not okay! I’ve been irritable since I quit yesterday!”

“S-sorry…”

I wanted to tell Akira not to take it out on me, but realizing that Mao-san and I might be the only ones she could vent to made me feel a bit emotional.

She clasped her hands in her lap while her gaze continued to roam around the table.

She seemed different than usual. 

“Hey, Yuu.”

She called out.

As I stored her lighter in a cabinet under the TV, I replied, “Yeah?” 

“We’ll succeed, won’t we?”

Surprised, I turned to look at her.

Her face was uncharacteristically etched with anxiety.

“Everyone…will welcome Anju back with open arms, right?”

Akira looked at me imploringly as she said that.

I gasped.

Despite all the practice and perfecting the dance without a single mistake, she was still anxious.

It made me wonder if I had been seeing her as some kind of paragon.

“…Yeah.”

I stood up and slowly approached her.

Then I placed my hands on hers, which were resting in her lap.

She took a sharp breath and looked at me with trembling eyes.

“It’ll be fine. Once the two of you are back on stage…and everyone sees that you still care deeply for each other…”

I paused, inhaling deeply, reflecting on the significance of what I was about to say.

“Everyone will definitely support you. And…so will I.”

When I said that, Akira’s eyes moistened, and she quickly closed them as if to hide her tears.

“Yeah… Yeah! All right!”

She stood up vigorously.

“If you say so, then it should be fine.”

She looked at me and smiled broadly.

“Keep your eyes open. Anju and I are going to start our counterattack!”

Watching her speak with such determination, I too felt confident that everything would be okay.

That was until four days later when I received the news she had collapsed during practice.

***

“I-influenza?!”

Mao-san exclaimed next to me before slumping back into the conference room chair as if all her strength had been sapped away.

She let out a lifeless sigh and placed her phone on the table, switching it to speaker mode. 

Akira’s voice came through the phone.

“I’m sorry… I was careful, but I guess these things happen when they happen…”

Her voice clearly sounded weak. 

News emerged that she had collapsed during practice.

Mao-san, who was on a business trip with a rookie idol in a distant location, hurried back. However, upon her return, she discovered that Akira had been taken to the hospital for tests and was now resting at home.

The tests revealed that Akira had contracted the influenza virus.

“I’ll get better soon… The concert will go on as planned… So…”

Akira spoke, her breathing noticeably strained.

Mao-san remained silent; her face twisted in frustration.

The concert is in three days.

Even if Akira recovers quickly, she might still carry the virus, making it impossible for her to perform without risking the spread of the disease to a large audience.

“No, it’s not happening.”

Mao-san finally declared after a long silence. 

Over the phone, I heard Akira gasp.

“I—I’ll be fine…! I can do it…!”

“It’s not about you. Even if you recover quickly, you might still be carrying the virus. Singing in front of 2,500 people in such a state would be akin to bioterrorism, don’t you think?”

“But…!”

“Akira!”

Akira protested, but Mao-san cut her off.

“…We’ve no choice but to cancel. There’s no other way.” 

Mao-san’s words echoed heavily in the room. 

Sniffling sounds came through the phone’s speaker. 

“I’m…sorry… I…”

Until now, Akira had been completely dedicated to preparing for the concert. After her practice sessions, she consistently went straight home, opting for an early bedtime and setting aside her usual pastimes, smoking and drinking.

Mao-san and I both know that. 

But there are moments when events are simply uncontrollable.

“It’s unavoidable. You said it yourself–things happen when they happen.”

“But…but…”

“At any rate, just take it easy for now. Leave the rest to me, okay?” 

Akira didn’t respond.

“Okay?!”

“…Okay.”

“Good. Now go to sleep. I’ll catch you later.”

Mao-san said gently, ending the call.

Then she collapsed onto the table, her head hitting it with a loud thud. 

“M-Mao-san?!”

“I’m screwed. Seriously…I’m done for… What am I going to do with the 20,000 pieces of merchandise that have already been produced? And the ticket refunds? What about Akira and Anju—when will they have their comeback…? Am I going to be fired…?”

“Mao-san, calm down…” 

“How can I calm down?! Ow!”

As she suddenly raised her head, it collided with my shoulder, causing us both pain.

She sniffed loudly.

“Why… We all worked so hard… Why did it come to this…?”

Her voice suddenly sounded more nasal.

I was flustered, seeing her on the verge of tears for the first time.

I felt emotional too.

As she mentioned, the production of merchandise is already complete, and all the tickets have sold out.

Canceling the concert would mean issuing ticket refunds and dealing with unsold merchandise, which, as one can imagine, would cause a huge financial loss.

It’s anyone’s guess whether Ripqle will have another chance to reunite after such a setback.

“Ugh, damn it!” 

Mao-san suddenly stood up and rummaged through her bag. 

She pulled out a tissue and gently dabbed her tears. 

“No point in moping around! I’m going to contact the Chairman right away!”

She announced, looking at me. 

“Even if it costs me my job, I’ll make sure Akira and Anju reunite!” 

Hearing this, I panicked. 

“No, they won’t make it without you, Mao-san!”

“Those kids will be fine! Anyway, we can’t do anything until we get instructions from the Chairman!” 

Mao-san spoke as if she had made up her mind.

“I’m always causing trouble, aren’t I? Sorry, but you’ll need to head home by yourself today.”

“I—I understand…” 

“I’ll let you know once things are settled. See you!” 

She quickly packed her things and rushed out. 

Once again, I was left behind in the room. 

Alone, reality suddenly hit me.

Is the concert actually going to be canceled?

Even after Anju decided to return and dedicate herself to intense training?

And what about Akira? She set aside her interests to match Anju’s dedication to preparing for the concert.

Is this really the end?

I was filled with despair. 

“…No way.”

I mumbled. 

“That’s just ridiculous…” 

I realized then the mental strength Mao-san had, to quickly switch gears and leave.

For a while, I sat crouched on my chair.

***

“No, we can’t cancel.”

The Chairman’s bold declaration left me speechless for a moment.

“Huh?” was all I could utter. 

Can’t cancel? 

But Akira can’t sing, can she? 

Is there anyone who can replace her?

Are you suggesting that she has to sing? Wouldn’t that be akin to bioterrorism?

Although these thoughts swirled in my mind, not a single word escaped my lips.

“Didn’t you hear me? We can’t cancel.”

The Chairman reiterated his point, emphasizing it in a way that jogged my memory on how to respond.

“B-but even if you say so, she won’t be fully recovered in just three days…!”

“Calm down, calm down.”

He said soothingly, even in such a frantic moment.

“Listen, first off, we’ll refund half the ticket price.”

“Huh? Half? Not the full amount?” 

“We’re not canceling the concert.”

“W-why not…?” 

“Narrow down the songs and let Anju perform them.”

“What?” 

My mind went blank.

Anju’s going to take Akira’s place? 

She’s going to sing at Akira’s solo concert?

“N-no…no way, that’s impossible!”

I exclaimed, but the Chairman calmly shook his head to dismiss my protest.

“Wasn’t this concert supposed to be for Anju’s comeback anyway?”

“Well, yes, but…”

“Don’t you think it’s a good opportunity to test her abilities and resolve?”

“But to just throw her in like that…” 

As I tried to avoid eye contact and felt sweat trickling down, the Chairman gazed at me with a stern expression.

“Think she can’t do it?”

“I—I’m not sure she can.”

He seemed a bit surprised with my response.

“I see. Well then, let’s call off the revival of Ripqle.”

He looked glum as he said that.

“Akira gets infected with a virus at a crucial time. Anju can’t handle it alone. What kind of ‘dream’ can such a unit harbor?”

He then chuckled sinisterly.

“You said you believe…”

I remained silent, with the Chairman’s gaze seemingly drawing me in.

“If you can’t follow through to the end, don’t use such words lightly.”

His words sounded both provocative and encouraging.

An idea just spontaneously came to mind.

“…So you’re going to let Anju do it alone?”

I asked.

“That’s right.”

“We’ll be refunding half the ticket price. Is that okay?”

“I told you, it’s okay.”

“And the condition to sell out the merchandise continues?”

“Of course.”

Anju’s face flashed in my mind.

No, it was the image of both of them dancing on stage.

When I first took charge of Ripqle, I was anxious.

Akira was arrogant and uncooperative, but her performance and dedication were outstanding.

In contrast, Anju was gentle and could get along with anyone. However, her singing and dancing were clearly steps behind Akira’s.

Akira always sought quality, and everyone involved with her understood that.

I had never been sure if Anju’s skills met her standards.

But…

Whenever they performed, my worries would instantly vanish.

Akira would always bounce and sing with an infectious energy.

Right beside her, stood Anju.

The stage lights never failed to shine brightly on both.

Each time they performed, they exuded a commanding presence that captivated us all.

Everyone’s eyes were invariably fixated on either Akira or Anju. In those moments, I would be reminded time and again that I was witnessing Ripqle in their element.

Yes, I knew it all along.

It wasn’t about quality.

They were just there, having fun.

They were idols just by being in the moment.

“…Do it.”

I mumbled.

“Anju will do it. She can do it!”

The Chairman’s eyes narrowed.

“I believe in them… I believe in Anju. I believe in Akira.”

Embarrassingly, tears fell from my eyes.

“I…believe in their ‘dream’!”

Yes, that’s right.

No matter how tough the work got, they lifted me.

They made me believe that there’s a world where effort and dedication alone can lead to the top.

How could I, who had been watching them so closely for a long time, be the first to give up?

So what if Akira won’t be around?

Anju has been sharpening her claws, specifically for this moment.

If she backs down now because of one or two extra songs, then that’s it.

No, I’ll definitely make sure she does it.

That is, after all, my job!

“I see. Well then…”

The Chairman said softly, smiling.

“I’m looking forward to it.”

“Yes… I will certainly follow through.”

Seeing me bow deeply, he offered a faint smile, looking somewhat pleased.


Previous (Volume 2 Chapter 11) | Next (Volume 2 Interlude 3)

Leave a comment