Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 2 Chapter 11


Translation: Chelly

Editing/Proofreading: Henry, Scarlet, Harris


Chapter 11

“…Twenty thousand pieces, you say?”

I asked, gazing at Mao-san, who was slumped over the conference room table.

“Is Zepp DiverCity really that big…? Well, it’s certainly big enough, but can it actually sell out twenty thousand pieces of merch?”

“It has a capacity of just under two thousand five hundred.”

“W-wait… So, does that mean a person needs to buy at least eight pieces?”

“It’s impossible, right?! Absolutely impossible! We’re being played, I sweeear! I can’t believe I fell for that damn chairman’s trick!”

“You really shouldn’t say things like that…”

I worried, thinking it inappropriate to speak so brazenly about one’s own boss. But Mao-san didn’t seem to care.

“In the worst-case scenario, we might have to buy a hundred each…”

“I—I don’t have that kind of money…!”

“Then you can just buy fifty! Akira, Anju, and I will each buy a hundred, and if necessary, we’ll have to ask Anna and all our associates to buy some too…”

Fifty is still impossible for me, though…

As I listened to Mao-san mumbling, I couldn’t help but express my honest opinion.

“…But then, doesn’t that defeat the purpose?”

Hearing this, she lifted her head wearily and looked at me.

Then she pursed her lips.

“Of course, I know that…”

“Oh, I’m sorry for saying something so stupid…”

“No, it’s me who should apologize for the stupid thing I said earlier.”

Mao-san sighed and sat up.

“Right. It’s meaningless if we don’t get the fans to buy them. Even though we’re being pressured by the Chairman, the truth is, that without such high expectations, we won’t gain much momentum going forward.”

She muttered as if confirming a fact and then stood up with vigor.

“But we can’t just rely on Akira and Anju’s performance and do nothing!”

She turned to me suddenly.

“I need your help.”

“Huh, m-me?”

“Yes! I want to hear a fan’s opinion. What kind of merchandise would make you want to buy eight?”

I see, so that’s what this is about.

Indeed, when looking at idol merch I often feel some are “off.”

By that, I mean they don’t seem like something a fan would want. Naturally, I don’t buy those items.

However, in this situation, merely focusing on producing quality merch doesn’t seem like a fundamental solution.

Even with a range of appealing items, people will still make choices based on their wallets and personal preferences. Of course, those who genuinely support the idols might buy every type there is, but it’s unlikely that such people will fill a concert venue with a capacity of under two thousand five hundred.

“Right now, I don’t believe the merch’s quality is particularly relevant. Of course, it’s always preferable to produce them in high quality…”

“I see.”

Mao-san listened intently.

“But I think what we really need is a compelling gimmick that would encourage people to buy eight pieces.”

“A gimmick? Like what?”

“For example, if you buy eight pieces, you receive a special QR code. Scanning this code allows you to watch an exclusive video of the two…or something similar…”

Noticing her sparkling eyes, my voice trailed off.

“Yeah…yeah, yeah! That’s it!”

She stood up and ruffled my hair.

“I knew it was right to ask you! That’s exactly what we need!”

“But if we make it just about buying eight, it might come across as too forceful, almost as if we’re insisting on ‘buying everything.’ Some people don’t like that. So maybe we could vary the video length or content based on whether they buy two, four, or eight… Knock it off!”

“Yeah, yeah, exactly!”

Mao-san continued to ruffle my hair with excitement.

“Yay! I knew I could count on you! Let’s go with that!”

“Huh?! Are you sure it’s okay to decide so quickly?”

“I mean, don’t you think it’s a good idea? After all, you’re a real idol fan.”

“Well, getting access to exclusive video footage is definitely exciting.”

“If you think of anything else, just email me anytime!”

“O-okay…”

Mao-san had appeared deflated until just moments ago, but now she has completely regained her energy.

The swift change surprised me, but honestly, it felt satisfying to be relied upon for my perspective as a fan.

“Ah, it’s already this late!”

She looked at her watch and stood up hurriedly.

“I need to go check out the VR studio!”

“Oh, okay. Um…what should I do now?”

Recently, I’ve been hearing Mao-san mention “VR” quite often, which sparked my curiosity and led me to look it up.

Up until now, interacting with idols required attending concerts or handshake and meet and greet events. However, there’s a growing trend of content where movements are synchronized with 3D characters, enabling fans to interact with anime-like idols.

Within Fair-Lily Production, two virtual idols have already debuted.

Although I hadn’t heard of them before, indicating they’re not widely known yet, Mao-san’s frequent references suggest the company is increasingly focusing on VR idols.

“You go check on Akira and Anju in the practice room. They should be finishing up. If Akira’s overdoing it, stop her.”

“What…? But I’m completely an outsider…”

“Just tell the instructor you’re ‘helping Mao Ashida,’ and she’ll understand. Oh, the room is on the seventh floor. Once they’re finished, you can let them leave and then head home yourself. All right, I’m relying on you!”

Mao-san left the conference room in a hurry, a scene I’ve seen several times in the past few weeks. I couldn’t help but smile wryly.

It’s nice to be trusted, but honestly, walking alone in the office feels awkward, and such developments are often stressful.

I tidied up the chairs in the room, turned off the lights, and left.

Despite wearing a visitor pass handwritten by Mao-san that said ‘Authorized Personnel’—which made me wonder about its actual authority—I couldn’t help but hunch my back when passing others in the hallway.

I took the elevator to the seventh floor.

Stepping out, the corridor was filled with bland walls and doors, making it hard to understand where I was.

Nervously, I checked out each door through the peepholes. I tried to play it cool so I wouldn’t seem sketchy, but I bet I still looked pretty suspicious if anyone caught me.

After checking a few doors, I finally found Akira and Anju.

Akira was dancing in front of a mirror, watched by Anju and what appeared to be their instructor.

I knocked and opened the door. Akira, absorbed in dancing, continued without pause, but the instructor quickly noticed me and approached.

“I’m sorry, are you using it next?”

She asked with an apologetic look.

Realizing she thought I was hurrying them, I quickly shook my head.

“Oh, no! I’ve come to pick up Akira and Anju… Their practice should be over, right?”

“Oh! You must be the one Mao-san mentioned!”

“Ah, aha-ha.…”

Unaware that she had been informed about me, I could only laugh awkwardly.

“Just wait a bit, please. Once Akira-san starts a full run-through, she doesn’t stop until the end…”

“That’s fine.”

“Would you like to watch?”

I was taken aback by the offer.

I realized I had never seen Akira practicing her dance.

Feeling as if I had stumbled upon a hidden side of my favorite idol, I became restless.

But truth be told, I was very eager to see it.

“Is it okay…?”

I asked timidly. The instructor, with a cheerful “Of course!”, happily let me in.

As I entered the practice room cautiously, Anju greeted me with a small wave.

Her expression was calm, but her shoulders, moving up and down with her breathing, clearly showed she had been dancing.

I returned her greeting with a slight bow and slowly made my way toward her.

“Hello, Yuu-kun, were you in a meeting with Mao-san?”

Anju asked softly. I nodded, and she shook her head in understanding, murmuring, “I see, I see.”

“Good job.”

“You too.”

Our conversation trailed off, and both Anju and I naturally turned our gazes to Akira, who was dancing in front of the mirror.

Her expression constantly changed as she danced, alternating between joyful smiles to moments of intense seriousness, skillfully aligning her expressions with the rhythm and emotion of each dance move.

It was amazing.

Despite wearing everyday clothing, her dancing had the same intensity as her live performances.

However, something felt off.

Her dance rhythm was precise, and nothing seemed out of place, yet I couldn’t shake the feeling that something was amiss.

I continued to watch her, trying to pinpoint what it was.

“Ah!”

I suddenly exclaimed.

Anju chuckled beside me.

“Noticed it?”

“Yes, but…why?”

Akira’s dance subtly lagged behind the music.

I initially failed to notice because she skillfully maintained this slight delay.

She danced approximately half a second after each beat, seemingly by choice.

The instructor, who had been silently observing, spoke without taking her eyes off Akira.

“Akira has been doing this training for a long time. When she was just starting out, there was a time during a performance when the music lagged due to an equipment error.”

“Just the music…?”

“Yes. That live show was themed around integrating dance with visuals. The visuals proceeded as planned, but the music was delayed… And the show ended without showing the fans its full potential.”

The instructor, squinting as she recalled the past, continued.

“She was very upset about it… Since then, she has always done this training at the end of her sessions.”

“So she’s intentionally dancing out of sync?”

“Yes. She practices dancing half a second ahead and then half a second behind the music.”

The instructor then cracked a slight, wry smile.

“With today’s technology, it’s unlikely that the music will lag during a live show, but she won’t stop. She says she does it just in case…”

As we talked, Akira continued to dance.

Her movements were impeccably graceful, painting a picture of sheer artistry, even though she was, in reality, entirely out of sync with the music.

It was an extraordinary sight.

The music playing was a four-on-the-floor[1]. It’s one of my favorite beats.

To constantly offset oneself against such a rhythm requires perfect control over one’s own rhythm, independent of hearing.

She continued this feat of concentration without faltering.

I couldn’t help but glance at Anju.

She watched Akira with a blend of solemnity and a hint of frustration on her face.

She has always stood by someone who continues to put in such incredible effort and performance, and she’ll continue to do so from now on.

Watching Akira practice truly made me understand, for the first time, the weight of Anju’s struggle.

As the song ended, Akira, panting, turned to the instructor.

“How was it?”

The instructor clapped and nodded.

“You nailed it again today.”

“Really?! That’s great! Wait, why is Yuu here too?”

Akira’s eyes widened as she finally noticed me.

I should have been visible in the mirror when I entered, but she was so focused on her dance she didn’t notice.

“I was meeting with Mao-san until just a moment ago. Since she has another matter to attend to, she left me with the responsibility of looking after you two.”

“Ah, I see! Hmmm…I want to practice a bit more…”

She said, looking toward the instructor as if seeking approval.

The trainer gave a wry smile and shook her head.

“You’ve had enough. Too much practice isn’t good for your body.”

“Just a bit more! I want to match up with Anju one more time…”

“No. Resting your body is also part of the job.”

“Tch…”

Akira’s shoulders dropped in disappointment.

However, she quickly perked up.

“Well then, let’s go change, Anju.”

“Y-yeah.”

“Yuu, wait downstairs. Or, you can stay and watch us change if you want…”

“I—I’ll wait downstairs…!”

Blushing, I quickly bowed to the instructor and hurried out of the practice room.

I really wish she would stop teasing me like that in front of others.

***

In the lobby of the first floor, I sat at the edge of a strangely plush sofa, waiting for Akira and Anju.

I kept my gaze fixed out the window, trying my best not to make eye contact with the pretty lady at the reception desk.

Alone, my thoughts drifted back to Akira’s practice session earlier.

She must have been doing such rigorous training all this time.

Her personal life is filled with drinking, smoking, and other vices, but it’s this unwavering commitment to training that keeps her physical strength and performance from declining.

I knew this, but witnessing it firsthand…

I covered my mouth with my hand and looked down.

“I love it…”

I whispered to myself.

I realized that I’m truly a die-hard idol fan, and I love seeing them work hard.

Each glimpse of their relentless effort, the foundation of their shining performances on stage, made me want to support them more.

Seeing it up close felt like a cheat.

“…Can’t you do these side activities occasionally, even if your main job is the focus?”

As the elevator doors opened, I thought I heard a familiar voice.

“Well, based on today’s experience, it doesn’t seem too hard, so I’m totally fine with it. Just ensure that the contract properly covers the incentives.”

Looking up, I first saw Mao-san.

It was indeed her voice.

Then, upon seeing the person walking behind her, I unintentionally gasped.

It wasn’t very loud, but it echoed in the silent lobby.

Their gazes turned to me.

At that moment, Mao-san made an obvious “oh crap” expression, while the eyes of the woman behind her lit up.

“Yuu-kun, you’re hereee!”

Maomi-san called out, dashing toward me.

I immediately tried to back away, but I couldn’t move far due to being seated.

“It’s been a whileee!”

She exclaimed as she lunged at me for a hug.

The impact of her embrace nearly knocked the wind out of me.

“Hmmm, you’re still as cute as ever. Why are you sitting here alone? Wanna go home together? Oh, big sis has some free time later. Wanna hang out?”

“Hey, hey, hey!”

Mao-san rushed over, trying to peel her off me.

“We have to go now!”

“Huh, why? It’s just a chance meeting, let it be.”

“No! If we loiter around here…”

The elevator’s ding interrupted Mao-san, and the person she was most concerned about appeared.

Scanning the lobby, she spotted Maomi and me. Even from a distance, I could see the angry look in her eyes.

“Hey—!”

Akira yelled in a throaty voice, uncharacteristic of an idol, as Anju stood by her side, looking on in shock.

Without missing a beat, Akira then charged toward us.

“Ah, Akira-chan. Long time no seee.”

“‘Long time no see,’ my ass!”

“Why the demonic expression?”

“Don’t touch Yuu with your filthy hands, you pervert! Slut!”

“How rude! I always sanitize my hands, you know.”

“That’s not the point!”

Mao-san and Akira forcefully pulled Maomi-san away, who finally released me with a moan.

“You’re as terrifying as ever.”

Maomi-san remarked with a wry smile, glancing at Akira.

In response, Akira clicked her tongue and retorted sharply.

“And you still have that stupid look on your face! So irritating!”

Her posture was so intimidating that it felt like she was ready to swallow Maomi-san whole.

Out of the blue, the voice of a different woman echoed in.

“Anna?”

Anju stared at Maomi-san with wide eyes.

Maomi-san smiled gently and raised her hand in greeting.

“Hey. Long time no see, Anju.”

“…Anna!”

Anju, seemingly moved, ran up to Maomi-san and hugged her.

“Wooow, you’re still as huge as ever.”

“Are you doing well? Are you eating properly and getting enough sleep? Are you sure you’re not overworking yourself?”

“Don’t worry, I’ve been doing well myself.”

“I—Is that so…? I haven’t been able to keep up with your activities…”

Anju blushed, still clinging to Maomi-san. Only I could see her expression.

It made sense, I thought.

“I’m quite popular, too. I always rank in the top three on aggregator sites. Even Yuu-kun watches my films.”

“Oh, really…!”

“Huh?!”

Seriously, please stop.

Avoiding Akira’s piercing gaze, I turned my attention to Mao-san.

She was standing behind Akira, bowing and apologizing.

However, it wasn’t her fault. There was no reason for Akira to be angry with her.

“Uh, why are you here, Maomi-san?”

When I asked, she muttered “Ah, right” and made a peace sign next to her face.

“I’m going to be a VR idol for FairPro!”

“Huh, really?!”

“You should go and watch me on your PC, Yuu-kun!”

“Well, ha-ha…”

I smiled awkwardly, unsure how to respond.

“Today was a test run. We were trying out the equipment to see how it works.”

Mao-san explained.

Adding to the explanation, Maomi-san chimed in.

“That’s right. I was able to move with greater freedom, making it significantly easier than the typical ‘VR shooting’ experience.”

“I—I see…”

I nodded, understanding what “VR shooting” meant.

Akira, barely containing her impatience, quickly approached me.

She then grasped my arm and swiftly pulled me to my feet.

“Let’s go! Talking to her will only taint you more.”

“Ah, Akira-chan, you don’t have to be so harsh…”

Anju anxiously glanced back and forth between Akira and Maomi-san.

“You always side with Anna! Fine, go with her! I’ll go home with Yuu!”

Akira spoke like a sulking child.

Then she dragged me toward the lobby exit.

“Wait a minuteee.”

Maomi-san said with a half-smile.

Akira turned and glared at her.

“What?!”

“Well, you should go with Anju.”

“There’s no way I’m letting you take Yuu!”

“No, no, I’ll have Mao take me home. Don’t you think it’s important for you guys to be on the same page right now? I don’t want to be the cause of your disagreement.”

Maomi-san spoke earnestly.

“I’m supporting you two, you know.”

“Anna…”

Anju’s eyes welled up.

Akira’s gaze wandered as if she had been defanged.

“…I went too far. Sorry.”

She mumbled.

“Let’s go, Anju!”

“Ah, yeah…!”

Anju glanced at Maomi-san and smiled.

“…See you, Anna.”

“Let’s go out to dinner sometime.”

“Yeah, definitely.”

After sharing a smile, Anju ran to Akira.

“Let’s go!”

As Anju exclaimed, Akira snorted and, still gripping my arm tightly, headed toward the exit.

Being dragged along, I glanced back to see Maomi-san blow a kiss.

Mao-san, with a bitter expression, waved goodbye.

Glancing at Akira’s profile, I thought to myself, “Being an adult sure is tough.”


[1] Four-on-the-floor is a rhythm pattern commonly used in disco and electronic dance music. It’s characterized by a steady, uniform beat on each quarter note of a 4/4 bar of music. This means there’s a bass drum kick on every beat—hence the term “four-on-the-floor.” The rhythm sounds like a continuous, evenly spaced “boom, boom, boom, boom,” creating a simple and driving beat that’s very effective for dance music.


Previous (Volume 2 Chapter 10) | Next (Volume 2 Chapter 12)

Leave a comment