Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 2 Chapter 5


Translation: Chelly

Editing/Proofreading: Henry, Scarlet


Chapter 5

The day after Mao had thrust an unreasonable task upon me, I found myself standing before a fancy café near the bustling downtown area.

I was supposed to meet the senior inside, but the idea of waiting in the cafe for someone I’d never met before didn’t sit well with me.

Having come straight from my morning classes at university, I was slightly self-conscious about the plain bag I was carrying, filled with textbooks.

Even though it was noon on a weekday, the downtown area, which I rarely visit, was bustling with people in various outfits.

There were salaried workers in suits, clearly on their work break. I saw a man walking around with flouncy clothes with some sort of Nordic pattern I couldn’t quite place. I also saw a woman in a skirt which seemed too short and a bit too high heels.

The variety of fashion styles was so diverse it was hard to believe they were all in the same city.

Possibly due to the nervous anticipation of meeting someone, I stared intently at the passing people, locking eyes with them and quickly looking away repeatedly.

As I spent an uneasy time waiting…

“Oh, there you are! Sooorry, have I kept you waiting?”

A voice came from the opposite direction I was looking, and I jumped in surprise.

I slowly turned around, taken aback.

“You’re Yuu Okita-kun, right?”

“Oh, y-yes…that’s me, but…”

Standing before me was a woman with a smile on her face whose fashion could be described only as “risqué.”

She wore a beige, off-shoulder micro-mini skirt dress, complemented by a thin black cardigan also designed to expose the shoulders.

I was at a loss for where to look. Gazing into her eyes proved to be a challenge, and everywhere else my eyes might wander, there was only bare skin.

Her shoulders were fully exposed, her neckline was widely open, and her dress was too short, leaving her tanned legs bare.

“Ah-ha-ha! You didn’t hear about my style from Mao, did you?”

“Oh, um…I didn’t…”

“Sorry, I’m always dressed like this. It’s hard to know where to look, isn’t it?”

“Well, e-everyone has different tastes…”

“Hmmm, you look so nervous, it’s cute. ♡ Let’s head inside, shall we?”

While I was still gathering my thoughts, the woman had already entered the café. I hurriedly pulled out my smartphone and dialed Mao-san’s number at breakneck speed.

It connected immediately.

“What’s up? Did the meeting fall through?”

“No, b-but this is impossible!”

I could hear her roaring laughter from the other end. What’s so funny?!

“She’s quite bold, isn’t she? What’s she wearing today, another revealing top?”

“It’s not just that! Everything!”

“Ah-ha-ha! It’s fine. You just need to get used to women.”

“It’s too much of a hurdle!”

I shouted again, only to be met with Mao-san’s merry laughter. It really ticked me off.

“I’ve got a meeting, so I’ve got to gooo. Good luck.”

“Wait! Mao-san?!”

The call ended.

I stomped my foot in frustration, only to feel a gentle tap on my shoulder.

“Eek!”

Behind me, the woman I was meeting looked at me curiously.

“What are you doing? Let’s go inside.”

“Oh…right…”

Sweating all over, I entered the café.

This is impossible.

Mao-san doesn’t listen to anything I have to say. Mao-san, you idiot! There’s a limit to tough love, you know?

My apprehension about this meeting, coupled with my resentment toward Mao-san, permeated my mind.

“Umm, I’ll have a large Dark Mocha Frappuccino[1] with extra whipped cream and chocolate syrup. …What about you?”

“Huh?! Oh, um…just a small hot coffee…”

“Hmmm, not getting something sweet? So mature.”

She narrowed her eyes like a playful cat, nudging my shoulder with her elbow.

I shuddered, and she observed me with a subtle gaze.

“You don’t seem very comfortable talking to people, do you?”

When she asked me that, I didn’t know what to say.

However, in my haste to respond, I inadvertently nodded my head.

“Y-yes, that’s about right…”

“Huh, really? I thought I’d be meeting someone cocky and rude since it was Mao’s assistant.”

The woman grinned and looked at me.

“I prefer someone like youuu, actually.”

“Oh… Ha-ha, is that so…?”

“Yeaaah! Oh, and big sis is paying for your drink.”

“Huh?! No, that’s not necessary!”

“It’s fine, it’s fine. A cuuute boy like you should be treated.”

I was already beholden to her for listening to my story, and now she was even paying for my drink. I thought she’d be more interested in what I had to say, but she clearly wasn’t.

I bowed my head and said, “Thank you very much,” she responded satisfactorily, “You’re welcome.”

I nervously waited for our drinks and found a miraculously vacant seat by the window in the nearly full venue, where the two of us sat.

“Oh, come to think of it, I haven’t told you my name yet!”

As we settled down, the woman clapped her hands, pulled a simple, high-end branded business card holder out of her small pouch, and handed me a card.

It read, “Anna Maomi — Actress.”

“Y-you’re…an actress?”

I thought she’d been working in a completely different industry since quitting as an idol, but perhaps she had just switched directions.

Her name seemed familiar.

With a vague sense of unease, I looked up from the business card and found my eyes naturally drawn to the face of Maomi-san, who was sitting across from me.

Huh?

I experienced a feeling of déjà vu.

Have I seen her somewhere before?

As I thought about this, her eyes narrowed mischievously.

“Do youuu recognize my face?”

“Oh, no, I don’t think so… But I feel like I’ve seen you somewhere, or maybe not… Sorry.”

As I stammered, she tilted her head and said, “Hmmm?” while leaning her face closer to mine.

Her forward movement caused her plunging neckline to reveal more than I could handle. I was left with no choice but to maintain eye contact with her.

“You recognize my face, don’t youuu? Look closely.”

Trapped by her gaze, I broke into a cold sweat as I stared at her face.

And then…

“…Ah.”

“Hmmm?”

“…Um.”

“What is it?”

“…I-I’ve probably seen you…somewhere before…”

When I said that, Maomi-san’s eyes twinkled as she smiled with an impish grin.

My cold sweat wouldn’t stop.

“Whereee?”

“Um, well, uh… Please give me a break.”

Hearing my feeble voice, she finally burst out laughing.

“Ah-ha-ha! You’re so cuuute! Sorry, sorry, I was just teasing you.”

As she stuck her tongue out, I suddenly realized where I had seen her before.

In fact, I’d seen her quite frequently.

She took a big sip of her Frappuccino through a thick straw and looked at me playfully.

“…Did it feel good?”

“Please give me a break!”

Seeing my face turn bright red, Maomi-san clapped her hands together and burst into laughter.

It turned out that the all-too-familiar face belonged to a famous, sexy celebrity whose works I’d even bought.

Mao-san, you idiot.

I’ll never forgive you.

***

Maomi-san and I were in a place that was quite conspicuous, so we had to talk in veiled terms about various things.

“Ohhh, you mean that thing that was making a fuss recently? That’s been going on since forever.”

She said, laughing in amazement, her eyes distant as she looked out the window.

“That industry is terrifyiiing. Only a handful of people ever realize their dreams. The rest? Their dreams are preyed upon by someone else.”

I straightened my back, feeling the weight of her words.

“Uh…did you have any dreams as well, Maomi-san?”

After hearing my question, her eyes opened wide with astonishment, and she slowly transitioned into a soft smile.

“How cuuute…”

“Huh?! U-uh, it was a serious question…”

“Asking so earnestly like that, it’s adooorable.”

She giggled, and I felt my face turn hot.

“To be honest, and I hate to disappoint you, but I never really had any of that.”

She spoke wistfully.

“You know, I’ve always liked being fawned over. So I thought, if I become an idol, I’d get even more attention.”

“So, that’s why…you became an idol?”

She giggled again and looked at me seductively.

“You think it’s ridiculous, don’t you?”

I was speechless for a moment, partly because I did think, “Just for that?”

However, I understood that everyone has their own reasons for choosing their career paths.

“No, I mean…to each their own, right?”

“Ah-ha-ha, you’re sooo kind.”

Maomi-san nodded repeatedly and then shrugged her shoulders.

“But that’s why I was so carefree about it. That girl really hated me.”

“‘That girl’?”

“You know, the one Mao’s managing. Akira-chan, it’s Akira-chan.”

“Oh…”

When she saw the realization on my face, she burst out laughing.

“Whenever she saw Anju and me talking, she would make such an unpleasant face. It was kind of cute, though.”

Though she claimed to have been disliked, Maomi-san spoke of it joyfully. Watching her, I sensed a certain “ease” in her attitude and an acceptance of things as they are.

I wish I had that kind of ease with myself, I thought.

More importantly, since Anju’s name had come up, I wanted to ask about her relationship with her.

“U-uh, leaving Akira aside, what was your relationship with Anju like?”

When I asked, she chuckled, saying, “So we’re leaving Akira-chan aside, huh?” She rested her chin on her hand and let her gaze wander.

“Hmm… Anju and I were…‘birds of a feather,’ I guess?”

“Birds of a feather… Meaning you were alike?”

“That’s right. We both sort of stumbled into being idols. And Anju’s partner was none other than Akira-chan. It must’ve been tough.”

Maomi-san narrowed her eyes and took another sip of her drink. Watching her closely, I found my eyes drawn to her bare skin, so I shifted my gaze to my coffee.

“When I first saw Anju, I thought, ‘Oh, she’s pretty much like me,’ and I felt a strong connection. Like, cuteness is our only weapon, you know?”

Her implicit self-affirmation by calling herself cute was a bit enviable. However, both Maomi-san and Anju are indeed undeniably beautiful.

“But…”

For the first time, she lowered her gaze, offering a subdued smile.

“That girl… She was different from me, after all.”

The comment seemed directed at Anju, but I felt it was also a reflection of her own feelings. A shadow seemed to cast over her, who had always been cheerful until now, making me feel uneasy.

“…Different how?”

“Hmm…Anju, unlike me…struggled. Desperately.”

Maomi-san chuckled and scratched the tip of her nose.

“I, on the other hand, entered the idol industry casually and soon realized, ‘Oh, this isn’t for me.’ I stuck with it for a while because I had just started. But once I saw how much more competitive it was than I expected, I stopped trying.”

She continued as she gazed out the window. Although she seemed to look at the people passing by, I was sure she was seeing her past self.

“I realized it wasn’t a place to come to without resolve. So, I figured I’d just take it easy, and when I hit my limit, I’d quit. I think Anju realized too, early on. But…that girl never gave up. She clung to being an idol with all her might.”

Maomi-san slowly shifted her gaze to me.

“I’m pretty sure…that girl eventually found her resolve. That’s why I always believed she would one day grasp her dreams.”

“Her resolve… You mean…”

Understanding where I was going with my words, she nodded.

“Yep, Akira-chan. The resolve to follow her and…to stand at the pinnacle of the idol industry with her.”

Maomi-san squinted her eyes and smiled gently.

“I thought to myself, ‘I’m enviouuus.’ I believe that if I had teamed up with Akira-chan, we would have ended up in a big fight and probably parted ways. But, you know, when you see someone so determined to pursue their dreams, you can’t help but be in awe of the glow they radiate.”

I understood that sentiment all too well.

The brilliance emanating from those who ardently march toward their dreams is incredible. We idol fans always draw strength from that.

Probably because deep down, we know how hard it is to keep chasing a dream.

In life, everyone has moments when they fantasize about what they want to become. But how many can truly pour passion into that fleeting fantasy and make it a reality? Most people get consumed by the realities of their present situation and eventually let go of their dreams.

Because…it’s easier that way.

“It might sound like something a fan would say…but I genuinely wanted those two to make their dreams come true.”

Maomi-san said wistfully.

“Even though I retired way before Anju did…I always kept tabs on their activities.”

Hearing the word “retired” from her, I couldn’t help but ask.

 “Um…why did you retire?”

She grinned at my question.

“Hmm, ha-ha. Well, as I mentioned earlier, I wasn’t really serious about being an idol, so I thought about quitting eventually… But the direct reason might be the recent incident you heard about.”

By “incident,” she must be referring to the backdoor hostessing issue.

I had a feeling that might be the case.

But hearing it so candidly was still tough. After all, this had been happening for so long.

My expression gave away my feelings more than I realized, and Maomi-san laughed when she saw it.

“Ah-ha-ha, come on, don’t look so grim! I refused, after all!”

She laughed briefly before nodding toward the business card on the table.

“You see, when one of the label’s executives approached me with that offer, it angered me. I had worked straight out of high school and always had to keep my bosses pleased. I became an idol to escape that, and now I was expected to cater to some sleazy old men? I thought, ‘No waaay!’”

She animatedly shared her story.

“And then it occurred to me, why not just capitalize on my looks and body?!”

As I looked around nervously, sure enough, customers at nearby tables were staring at Maomi-san.

She covered her mouth with her hand, realizing she had been too loud. Then she stuck out her tongue.

“I better be careful. There might be someone here who’s a fan.”

I was at a loss for words.

When I looked away, she pointed at me and giggled.

“Ah-ha-ha, you’re so cuuute.”

“…P-please don’t tease me.”

“Huuuh? But you really are cute.”

Though I tried my best to convey that I wasn’t comfortable being called “cute,” she didn’t seem to get it.

After a hearty laugh, she sighed and looked at me with a calm demeanor.

“I heard from Mao that there’s a plan to bring Anju back into the industry.”

“…Yes.”

“And you’re doing this because Mao asked you to?”

It wasn’t wrong to put it that way. But it wasn’t the whole truth.

While it’s true that I began directly contacting Anju and met with Maomi-san because Mao-san asked me to, I also genuinely wished for Anju’s comeback.

“I… I’d also like R-ripqle to reunite…from the bottom of my heart.”

Maomi-san looked at me with wide eyes, seemingly surprised.

Then she gave a mischievous smile.

“Huh… I see, I see… I got youuu.”

With feline grace, she narrowed her eyes and nodded repeatedly.

“Wh-what is it…?”

“I think I understand now why Mao chose you.”

She said with a delighted grin. There was a certain allure in her movements as she leaned on the table with her chin resting on her hand.

“Say, have you told Anju about that?”

“Huh? What do you mean?”

“You know, the part about wishing Ripqle would get back together.”

Hearing that, I was taken aback.

Come to think of it, I never really conveyed that sentiment directly.

After all, I’m just an outsider, and after hearing about Anju’s feelings, I didn’t feel like it was my place to say such things.

“I…haven’t.”

“What?! You have to tell heeer!”

Maomi-san leaned forward eagerly.

“I bet even Anju would waver if someone like you said that! After all, she must be wanting to go back to being an idol.”

Here we go again.

People connected to the idol industry seem to think highly of me for some reason. I don’t mind, per se, but I struggle to understand why.

Moreover, after Mao-san, now Maomi-san is asserting that Anju wants to return to the industry.

“U-uh…how can you be so sure Anju wants to be an idol again…?”

When I asked, Maomi-san seemed confused for a moment and then answered as if it was obvious.

“Well, that’s because…she’s still in the middle of her dream.”

In the middle of her dream.

Her words were casually spoken, but they resonated deeply within me.

“As I said earlier, the resolve to chase a dream isn’t something that comes easily. Anju and I started at the same time, but in the end, she was the one who solidified her resolve to chase her dream. She’s already on that track, so I’m sure she’s definitely still bound by that dream.”

She continued, her voice calm but solemn.

“That girl was always anxious. She stood alongside someone she couldn’t surpass, whether in talent or effort. Yet, she persisted… There’s no way she could easily forget the dream for which she worked so hard.”

Then, with a smile, Maomi-san looked at me.

“That’s why…continue nudging her, and don’t stop!”

She leaned forward again.

As she reached out to pat my shoulder, I flinched and instinctively shielded it with my hand.

“Oh…sorry for startling you. I just wanted to give your shoulder…a firm pat for encouragement…”

Seeing my exaggerated reaction, Maomi-san seemed a bit deflated and took her seat.

“I’m so-sorry…! I was just surprised…”

“Yeah, my bad. People often tell me I’m a bit too touchy-feely.”

After she said that, she cleared her throat.

As guilt washed over me, I lowered my head, but she responded with a reassuring smile.

“But getting back to the topic! Girls who are on the fence can easily be swayed. There’s no doubt about that!”

“I-is that so…?”

“Absolutely! Sometimes, all one needs is that final push. The push that’ll give them the courage they need.”

“I see…”

“And if a shy and delicate guy like you were the one to do that, she’d definitely give in.”

“…Huh.”

I wasn’t sure if she was complimenting or teasing me, so I just responded noncommittally.

After that, I continued nodding along to Maomi-san’s lively chatter, occasionally asking questions about things that piqued my interest. Before I realized it, time had flown by.

At first, I was intimidated by her flamboyant appearance and vibrant demeanor. But perhaps sensing my unease, she took the lead in our conversation.

I wasn’t confident in how well I had conversed, but I was certain that it went smoothly, thanks to her.

“Looks like it’s getting pretty packed in here, and we’re out of drinks. Let’s head ouuut.”

She announced, prompting us to leave the café.

Though we’d met just after noon, the sky was now bathed in the hues of sunset.

“Maaan, I was on guard because you said you wanted to talk about Anju, but it turned out to be a fuuun chat!”

She exclaimed as she stretched outside.

It revealed more than I was comfortable seeing, so I quickly averted my eyes.

“Thank you so much. Your insights were invaluable.”

I said, still looking away. Maomi-san nodded in satisfaction.

“That’s good to hear!”

Her smile was genuine and carefree.

Ever since I first saw her on screen, her genuine and innocent smile captivated me. Seeing it up close was even more breathtaking.

We walked side by side, heading out of the downtown area.

During the day, it looked as if it was just a usual bustling place. But as darkness fell, the flashy neon lights and beckoning calls from bars and adult entertainment shops became more noticeable.

“By the way, Yuu-kun?”

Suddenly, as I was looking around, Maomi-san called out to me.

“Yes?”

When I turned my gaze to her with a somewhat absentminded reply, her eyes narrowed.

“Excuse me for a second.”

“Huh?! …Wha—?!”

Before I knew it, she stood beside me, hugging me tight.

I felt a shiver from the soft sensation pressing against my side.

My instinct was to push her away, but I raised my voice instead of giving in to that urge.

“S-stop it, please!”

“Hmmm, ha-ha. Sorry, sorry.”

Maomi-san quickly released me, her eyebrows furrowing in a playful apology.

“Wh-why did you do that all of a sudden?!”

As I protested, dripping in sweat, she locked eyes with me and slowly spoke.

“Your problem isn’t that you don’t feel comfortable talking to someone, is it?”

“…Huh?”

Although she wore a gentle expression, her gaze was somewhat sharp.

“You’re afraid of women, aren’t you?”

She hit the nail on the head, and I was at a loss for words.

“I’ve watched you at the café. When a man walked by, your expression remained unchanged. But when a woman did, you tensed up. When I touched you, you seemed startled, and afterward, you appeared apologetic. You’re not averse to women, you’re just uneasy around them, right?”

Maomi-san saw right through the facade I put on during our first meeting. I felt a mix of embarrassment and guilt.

“…I’m sorry. I should’ve told you from the beginning.”

“Nah, I know it’s difficult to bring up such a thing.

She shook her head gently.

But her expression suddenly changed, and it was somewhat ominous.

“But you know…”

Her eyes sparkled as she stepped closer. I instinctively retreated, but she quickly bridged the gap.

Gently gripping my arm, she leaned in to whisper in my ear.

“You’re reeeally…cute.”

“…I told…you!”

I softly pushed Maomi-san away.

I could still feel the warmth of her breath on my ear, and I got goosebumps.

“Please stop teasing me!”

“I wasn’t teasing youuu.”

She giggled, then suddenly collapsed as if her legs gave out.

Seeing her slumped down, my heart raced.

“Huh? Are you okay?!”

Crouching down beside her, I met Maomi-san’s gaze.

“…I’m exhausted.”

“…What?”

“I can’t walk anymooore.”

“Huh? But weren’t you walking just fine a few minutes ago…?!”

“How about we find somewhere to rest?”

She looked off in a direction, and I followed her gaze.

I was stunned.

There stood a flashy building resembling a castle.

It was unmistakably a love hotel.

“…Huh?”

Maomi-san’s glittering eyes were fixed on my dumbfounded face.


[1] Dark Mocha Frappuccino is a registered trademark and an exclusive beverage product of Starbucks.


Previous (Volume 2 Chapter 4) | Next (Volume 2 Chapter 6)

Leave a comment