Ashita, Hadashi de Koi Vol. 1 Ch. 2 Pt. 1


Translation: chelly

Editing/Proofreading: henrylin22, Scarlet


Chapter 2

Part 1

“Prediction” is such a fascinating game.

It never gets old to me.

For example…

If I study hard for the test tomorrow, I can avoid a failing mark.

If I get involved with the people around me this year, I can easily make friends.

If I talk to Nito during the next break, I can rekindle my relationship with her.

If I work hard for the entrance exam starting this summer, I can get into some universities.

I’ve made such predictions before, reassured myself of the possibilities I still have, and deliberately postponed action. And it was too late when I realized they were delusions rather than predictions.

There was nothing that could be done.

It was irreversible.

I squandered time in vain, resulting in a very regrettable present.

And now, my high school life has come to an end.

Today, too. I was also playing the prediction game as I approached this juncture.

Just this time, they’re no longer delusions—they’re real.

“Having said that, it’s still just a hypothesis.”

I wrote down the notes I had scribbled in my sleep the night before.

I pointed out the hypotheticals I’d written all over the page to Makoto.

“I want to test it first. I want to see if I’m right—that I can really rewrite the past!”

This is the most motivated I’ve been since starting high school.

Something unusual and hot was raging in my chest, possibly hope or something similar. I couldn’t stop wanting to move as soon as possible.

However, in contrast to my enthusiasm…

“Hmm.”

Seated across from me, Makoto sipped her iced tea through a straw.

And then she stared out the window.

“Change the past and save Nito-senpai… huh.”

The day after the graduation ceremony.

Even though it was past noon, the fast-food restaurant near our school was packed.

There were men in suits who appeared to be working, as well as young people of the same age who appeared to be studying.

On the other side of the table was a group of flamboyant college students. As a confirmed ronin[1], I’m losing a lot of mental energy just by looking into their eyes.

But I can’t say anything about it right now.

I wanted to test my hypothesis, based on yesterday’s mysterious phenomenon, that the past could be rewritten to save Nito at any cost.

“And I need your help, Makoto!”

I pleaded with her once more.

“I’ve already graduated, you see. I can’t get into the school without the assistance of an existing student like you, Makoto.”

Playing the piano most likely triggered the time travel.

Playing Nito’s song transported me back to the day of the entrance ceremony three years ago. I then returned to the present by playing that song again.

Given this, I can only surmise that the trigger is the piano.

More specifically, pressing the keyboard.

So if I play Nito’s song in the Astronomy Club room, I might be able to travel back three years.

But of course, there are some uncertainties.

There’s no guarantee that the piano is the actual trigger or that I’ll be transported to the same time. Anything can happen. If that’s the case, there’s no choice but to experiment.

I can’t just think about it idly—I have to put it to the test and see what happens. I needed Makoto’s help, so I met with her.

She was, however, surprisingly indifferent.

“You know, Senpai, you sometimes act like this.”

She sighed.

“You’re like a huge science nerd. You just keep coming at me with these technical terms.”

“Oh… you’re right. Sorry.”

I probably get worked up and ramble because I used to want to be an astronomer. Well, some say I’m just an otaku who speaks fast. In addition, my grades didn’t make a strong case for my dream.

“And.”

Makoto finally looked at me.

“Frankly… I don’t think it’s possible.”

“Not possible? What is?”

“Anything and everything.”

Makoto tilted her head slightly as she folded her arms.

“Time travel? Rewriting the past? It just doesn’t seem possible, does it?”

“…Uh.”

“How can you expect me to believe you when you suddenly discuss things like this? It’s asking too much.”

She has a point.

Going back in time is a science fiction phenomenon found in manga and anime. And saving Nito by doing so is a massive leap of faith.

“But you said your memories had changed, didn’t you?”

“Yes, that’s right.”

Makoto lightly nodded.

“My memories of you having no friends shifted to you having friends.”

“Right? That, you see, is proof that I rewrote the past.”

“No, I think it’s just a misunderstanding. We were both confused and shaken, so we acted strangely.”

“You really think so?”

“It’s more plausible than going back three years.”

“…Uh, hmm.”

That’s something I can’t argue with.

“And besides, what will you do if you can rewrite the past? How will you save Nito-senpai?”

“Oh! Yeah, yeah, about that.”

I moved from my notebook’s “Phenomenon Analysis” section to the “Nito Rescue Plan” section.

Of course, I had a detailed plan for this section as well.

“I can think of a lot of things. First and foremost, I’d make it my first priority to keep the Astronomy Club alive.”

“The Astronomy Club?”

“Yes. The club had disbanded by the end of my freshman year. After that, I squatted in the clubroom for a while.”

Astronomy Club. The place where Nito and I met.

When I started school, it barely existed as a club. Still, it eventually fell below the minimum number of members required for its continued existence that year. It was dissolved as soon as I entered my sophomore year. Consequently, this was also a deciding factor in Nito and my estrangement.

Well, I continued to use the clubroom as I pleased, and Makoto, who showed up later, also used to hang out there. This deepened the rift between Nito and me.

By the way, Makoto wasn’t precisely a “junior member” of the Astronomy Club. I’d say she was more of a fellow squatter in the clubroom.

“So, first and foremost, I’m going to attempt to rally the club’s members and prevent the club from disbanding.”

“What? How does that save Nito-senpai? Is Nito-senpai not going to vanish if the club stays?”

“…Well, you see, I was reflecting on a lot of things yesterday.”

I crossed my arms and looked over the table.

I noticed a leaflet on the tray advertising a part-time job opening.

『Want to join our crew? An hourly wage of 960 yen. Students and housewives are welcome.』

“That girl sure seemed to be having a tough time with her music career, especially after her sophomore year. She rose to fame and became even more depressed than before. Even at school, she exuded the same energy as her artist persona.”

“…Is that so? I guess I didn’t really notice.”

“I didn’t recognize it either at the time. But, you know, I was looking through old photos on my phone and realized. For some reason, all I could think about was how incredible the gap between us two was. Then I noticed the signs of change in her.”

They were photos of Nito in her first and second years and some videos I took for fun.

It’s subtle, but I could see the changes in Nito.

Her face became solemn, and her voice lost its usual timbre. She spoke less frequently, and her comments were sometimes pessimistic.

“Of course, I’m unsure if that would explain her disappearance.”

That’s something I’m willing to admit.

In fact, no new official information has been made public since then. There have been various theories about the cause, mostly on the Internet, but they are all just rumors.

It’s possible she vanished for reasons I can’t fathom.

“But I figured the first step was to be there for her and to be in a relationship that allowed me to listen to her. In fact, I gave up on it before, and we grew apart. But this time, I thought I could give her the support she needs.”

“…I see.”

“So I need to give it a try first. I need your help to play the piano in the clubroom.”

“Hmm…”

Makoto fiddled with the paper straw wrapper with her fingertips.

As it became wet, her fingernails were slowly ripping it to shreds.

It didn’t indicate that she agreed with what I had just said.

“…Why are you so opposed to it?”

I asked, terrified.

“You’re still unconvinced, aren’t you?”

“I’m still unconvinced, yes.”

Makoto leaned her elbows against the table. She sighed languidly as she looked out the window.

“Hey, you.”

A voice from behind suddenly called out.

“Huh?!”

I turned around, startled.

“…Who is it?”

Behind me stood a young man who I didn’t recognize.

He has an intriguing face, small wrinkles between his brows, strong-willed thin lips, and a toned body. He was probably around the age of 20. And, how should I put it, he appeared menacing. A burly older guy was looking down at us.

What’s happening? No way. Are we being mugged or what…?

“I was eating there with a friend when I overheard you two talking.”

“O-oh, I’m sorry! Were we too loud?!”

“No, no, no. I was just wondering…”

He lowered his voice.

“…Do you know Nito?”

“…O-oh.”

I see. He must have overheard me say her name.

Oh man, I should have kept my voice down.

How am I supposed to respond? Is it okay to tell him I know Nito and that she’s a celebrity, or should I keep that information hidden from him? Also, this guy gives me the creeps.

When I looked at Makoto for help, she was still looking out the window, pretending not to notice me.

I suppose that’s normal. Even I, a guy, would be freaked out by this situation.

“That’s right. We went to the same school.”

I answered honestly after some hesitation.

I had a feeling it would be difficult to keep a lie from this person.

“Well, you know, I’m concerned…”

“Yeah.”

He let out a deep sigh.

“Actually, I’m an alumnus of that school, too. I graduated last year.”

“O-oh. So you were our senior…”

“Right.”

He nodded.

His demeanor is like that a young boy, and I think he may not be as much of a delinquent as he looks.

But at first glance, he totally looks one.

And…

“…Oh! Rokuyou-senpai?!”

I suddenly realized and yelled.

“You’re Haruki Rokuyou-senpai, right?”

The chiseled face and imposing, solid build.

There’s no doubt about it. I remember seeing him a lot at school.

He was well-known, and not a single student didn’t recognize him.

He was the central figure of his clique and an all-around athlete.

But he was a single-minded hard head who challenged his teachers and seniors if he disagreed with them. He reminded me of a heroic character from a fighting manga.

“I am. How do you know my name?”

“I mean, anyone who went to that school knows…”

By the way, the Rokuyou family is also said to be the family lineage of a landowner in the Kichijouji[2] area, and one of their ancestors is in a Japanese history textbook. In comparison, the Sakamoto family’s most notable family member is my cousin Kippei, who managed to win the Minister’s Prize in an invention contest when he was in elementary school.

“So, Nito. I was also shocked when I saw it on the news.”

“Oh, so that’s how it is. Do you two know each other, Rokuyou-senpai?”

“…You could say that.”

Rokuyou-senpai’s expression darkened slightly for some reason.

“We’d meet up at events and chat for a bit…”

Ah, it’s true that Nito and Rokuyo-senpai often worked together as committee chairs or representatives, which is how they became acquainted. But I didn’t think that was the only reason for his expression. He seemed to have something on his mind about Nito.

“…Did something happen?”

I asked without thinking.

“Did you two get into a fight or something?”

“…No, it’s not like that.”

Rokuyou-senpai laughed after saying that.

Then he bitterly pursed his lips.

“I have a rivalry with her… Nah, it wasn’t even like that.”

What’s that supposed to mean?

I’m curious as to what happened between them that caused Rokuyou-senpai to react the way he did.

But before I could ask him…

“Well, anyway, that’s why I’m concerned about her.”

He continued as if to cut the conversation short.

 “Then I heard something about needing help. I couldn’t help but talk to you.”

“So that’s how it is… I’m sorry, but I’m not too sure about it either…”

“Hmm.”

Rokuyou-senpai reached into his pocket and pulled out his phone.

“Let’s exchange contact information, by the way. Contact me if you find out anything about Nito. And if there’s anything I can do to help you, please let me know.”

“Oh, um, r-really…?”

It’s unexpected, but I can’t say no if he says so.

After exchanging LINE IDs, Rokuyou-senpai simply said, “See you,” and returned to his seat where his friends were waiting for him.

The tension appeared to have finally subsided, and Makoto breathed a sigh of relief.

“Somehow, it felt like it sucked dry the life out of me. It was scary.”

“I guess. I never thought we’d be tangled up with that guy in a place like this.”

He didn’t seem like a jerk, but he was still very imposing.

I could feel my strength sapping just by being exposed to his aura.

“Also, I no longer have the energy to think about things…”

Makoto gulped down her drink with a sluggish look on her face.

She then rested her chin in her hand, contemplating.

“…Shall we go to school for the time being?”

She spoke so quietly that it seemed she was talking to herself.

“I still refuse to believe it. Even so, I’ll give it a shot.”

“Thanks, you’re a lifesaver.”


[1] In Japan, a ronin (浪人) is a student who has graduated from middle school or high school but has failed to enter a school at the next level, and consequently is studying outside of the school system for entrance in a future year.

[2] Kichijouji (吉祥寺) is a neighborhood in the city of Musashino in Western Tokyo, Japan.


Previous (Vol. 1 Ch. 1 Pt. 4) | Next (Vol. 1 Ch. 2 Pt. 2)

1 thought on “Ashita, Hadashi de Koi Vol. 1 Ch. 2 Pt. 1”

Leave a comment