Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 1 Chapter 11 Part 2


Translation: Chelly

Editing/Proofreading: Henry, Scarlet


Chapter 11

Part 2

What appeared on the screen wasn’t a promotional video.

It was raw footage from a camera.

Akira looked back at the screen, startled.

Please stop. I’m not listening to you.

I’m told by Ozu-san that he gave you a good lecture.

I’m a dedicated idol! Isn’t this… betraying my fans?

A-ha-ha, come on, don’t say the word ‘idol’ out loud. There are people around… hey, what are you filming? Stop it! Hey! Don’t run away! Somebody! Get him!

Akira was visibly bewildered as she watched the video that suddenly played on the screen.

The audience murmured.

Everyone could tell that something strange was happening.

And Anju Majima, who was already retired, was clearly visible in the video.

The video abruptly ended as Akira stood frozen in the center of the stage, in front of an increasingly rowdy audience.

“Uh… um…”

Still flustered, she addressed the crowd.

“Th-the encore song… Never mind the video! The song! Can I have it play again from the beginning?!”

Akira shouted over the mic.

But the audience was out of control.

“A-ha-ha… what…”

She was disoriented.

No… she “made it look like she was confused.” I gulped.

“…What was that?”

Akira uttered in a cold voice. The audience was taken aback, and the commotion subsided in an instant.

“Wasn’t that Anju just now? What…”

She lowered her head, as if troubled, and then suddenly raised her head.

Tears poured down her cheeks.

Once again, the audience erupted.

And…

“What’s going on?!”

She cried—her face flushed with rage.

Her anger rippled throughout the venue.

“…That’s right, what was that?! What the hell’s going on?!”

The audience roared. gripped in righteous anger, booing.

Faced with the “stunning revelation,” Akira was overcome with grief and ire.

Though those feelings are nothing new to her. She already knew why Anju retired, and of the video.

But she showed her rage along with the crowd/audience as if she too learned with them.

This is good.

Because she couldn’t remain an idol otherwise.

Her original plan to sacrifice herself was too risky. Even if the accusation is proven, she could be accused of engaging in “private entertainment” herself. And if her idol activities resumed as usual after that, it would be difficult for fans to support an idol with a tarnished reputation while keeping an open mind.

That’s why it was necessary to publicize the accusation as something unrelated to Akira. Because if the video was disseminated on the internet, it would likely be labeled a “hoax,” as Kasugai had noted.

It’s better to reveal it in a setting where people who share the same anger toward such things can gather.

Revealing the fact in front of Akira Sezai’s fans as an irregularity… and making it appear as if Akira discovered it for the first time was the best course of action.

It was the only way to keep her safe and ensure that the accusations succeed.

Akira, Ashida-san, and I had meticulously planned and prepared for this day.

It was Ashida-san who came up with leaking the video this way, and my idea that Akira’s acting would rile up the fans and flame their anger.

The rest was up to Akira to pull it off. She did it flawlessly.

She performed to perfection, as if unaware of the “shocking revelation” that awaited her. Then, when the time came… she let all her emotions out.

Anger engulfed the venue.

Showtime’s over.

I felt relieved that my plan had worked, and dejected that Akira’s concert would end in a flurry of angry shouts… With both of these sentiments, I turned away from the stage to leave.

However…

“Everyone!”

Akira, who was slumped over and shaking until a few seconds ago, shouted from the stage.

Everyone fell silent.

I, too, was taken aback and turned to her.

“I’m sure everyone was taken aback by how unexpected that was… I-I was surprised too… And to be honest, I’m confused… I’m so angry right now…”

Akira said, her gaze wandering for a few seconds on the stage floor.

But when she looked up, her expression was full of newfound intensity.

I took a deep breath.

“But I don’t want it to end like this.”

Akira clutched the mic as she looked at the audience.

“This concert is… for me and everyone else. Don’t you think ending it this way is wrong?”

She stated emphatically.

“Let me worry about what just happened! I’ll figure everything out soon! That’s why—!”

She raised her head and gave everyone her “usual smile.”

“Let’s get back on track with the encore song!”

The intro to “Tussle of Two” then played again.

I… stared at Akira with my eyes wide open.

People around me were also watching her with bated breath.

Akira’s anger and frustration commanded the attention of the audience.

My vision gradually blurred once more.

Several fans nearby were also shedding tears as they looked at Akira.

“Akira…!”

You didn’t let your fans down.

You didn’t abandon me.

“Akira!”

Her gaze shifted to me for a split second, and she winked.

She then sang “Tussle of Two” softly.

Akira had succeeded in her attempt to “clean up the industry.” But she’s also going to make this concert one to remember.

She’ll finish it to the very end for her fans.

After all, Akira Sezai, in whom I had faith, was “perfect.”

I was… overcome with joy as I listened to the dreamlike encore.

[End of Chapter 11]


Previous (Volume 1 Chapter 11 Part 1) | Next (Volume 1 Chapter 12)

2 thoughts on “Kimi wa Hontouni Boku no Tenshi nano ka Volume 1 Chapter 11 Part 2”

Leave a comment