Genjitsu de Rabukome Dekinai to Dare ga Kimeta? Vol. 2 Ch. 2 Pt. 4


Translation: learning2tl

Editing/Proofreading: chelly, Harris


Chapter 2 – Who Decided That Sub-Characters Aren’t Necessary?

Part 4

“Well, look. True, the situation was resolved. But wasn’t there a slightly better way to do it that didn’t harm me?”

Lunchtime on the rooftop.

With a dejected look on my face, I sat on the floor, clasping my knees.

“Don’t ask for the impossible. It made no sense to send me an emergency call right after reporting that everything was normal.”

Uenohara was eating her lunch with a whimsical expression on her face.Argh, I couldn’t say anything because she’s right.

Ultimately, I settled the matter by claiming that it was the sound of an alarm clock I had forgotten to turn off, but a few people mistook it for an actual alarm, and the campus was temporarily in a frenzy.

Although it was an unexpected accident, Toshikyo had given me a strict lecture and assigned me a lot of work as punishment for the confusion I had caused.

Torisawa, who passed by on the way, burst out laughing, while Kiyosato-san, who arrived at school later, smiled wryly and offered me words of comfort. Let’s just say it’s fine that it ended up like a punchline and move on…

Uenohara took a bite of rice topped with sakura denbu and sighed.

“…Good grief. It’s a good thing I set up the sound generator yesterday. Even though it quickly became unusable.”

“That’s why I told you to stop raising flags…”

You can’t avoid a death flag like that which has one nightscene between, you know.

I exhaled before opening my mouth.

“…That was, nevertheless, helpful. Thanks.”

“Mm-hmm.”

Uenohara grabbed a handful of hair behind her head with her left hand, her face expressionless.

I broke out of my shy demeanor and asked a question.

“Nonetheless, you were extremely quick to recognize the situation. There wasn’t much to go on, was there?”

Even if the call had been answered quickly, all she should have heard was the otaku banter between Tokiwa and Anayama. That was far less information than I had, even though I was there from the beginning.

“Even though I didn’t know the specifics, I knew if there was trouble, it had to be with Katsunuma-san. She’d definitely intervene if Tokiwa-kun was talking to someone he didn’t usually talk to. That was what started it last time, in my case, right?”

“Ahh, I see.”

That made sense.

Katsunuma had previously forced her way into the center of the stage after Uenohara had made contact with Tokiwa. So, she assumed it would be a similar case this time, huh?

“It’s true that the pattern this time was more about attacking Anayama than interfering with me. Because the two of them had unexpectedly started talking to each other in a friendly manner, it wasn’t out of the question for her to act in response.”

“And besides, she appears to be very strict toward people who approach her close friends.”

Uenohara made an oddly emphasized remark before sipping her pack of lemon tea.

Still… Tokiwa and Katsunuma.

“In fact, I’m curious what Tokiwa means to Katsunuma in the first place. Given everything that has transpired, that does not appear to be a simple reaction to a friend from the same middle school.”

“If you think about it carefully, it’s possible that she likes Tokiwa-kun.”

“…So that’s how it is?”

If that were truly the case, I’d almost want to tell her, “This is exactly how a romantic comedy should be, so go forth and prosper!” …But, well, I’d be amazed if things could be resolved in that manner.

“But, even if that were the case, it wouldn’t be a sufficient reason to react to boys…”

Uenohara abruptly stopped moving her chopsticks, then resumed.

“In that case, she might be bothered by the term ‘loser.’”

“…Now that you mention it, she has been saying that to me quite frequently.”

I haven’t counted how often it’s happened, so it’s just an impression, but I’ve heard her say that kind of thing regularly.

I had dismissed it as a derogatory term for me, whom she saw as an enemy, but when you consider how someone like Anayama had also fallen into that category, the situation changes. It might be a good idea to figure out the meaning of that word in this context.

While I was thinking about these things, Uenohara clapped her palms together and placed her chopsticks on top of her bento. She seemed to have finished her meal.

“Anyway, it’d be risky to leave Katsunuma-san alone, wouldn’t it? We must devise a countermeasure as soon as possible.”

“You’re right…”

For the time being, I’m guessing Anayama will be taking no obvious actions like that. When I spoke with him recently, he was in full rejection mode, saying, “I don’t want to get close to that bitchKatsunuma ever again.”

However, all that does is make it possible to avoid Katsunuma-related problems, which is a drawback from the standpoint of the Plan. Shrinking away from her would be mistaking the minor for the crucial.

I raised my head, murmuring “Hmm…” to myself.

“…Is it okay if I ask you a favor, Uenohara?”

“Hmm?”

“I’d like you to reevaluate Katsunuma’s background. Right now, we have far too little information.”

Whatever we do to cope, as expected, the best way to deal with the problem is to understand the principle underlying Katsunuma’s behavior. When in doubt, conduct an extensive investigation.

So far, Katsunuma has taken independent action in two situations—when I try to seize the initiative in class, and when others approach Tokiwa.

Behind this appears to be a combination of factors, including hostile enmity toward me and Anayama—people who fall into the category of what she calls the losers—and some feeling toward Tokiwa.

To resolve this, it may be necessary to go back in time and gather informationdata.

Uenohara opened her mouth, surprised.

“I don’t mind looking into things, but Kouhei… I thought you’d already looked into everything.”

“I gave it my all as well. But, because we don’t have any other students from the same middle school as those two, I couldn’t get my hands on all of the details.”

Their alma mater, Shinomori Minami Middle School, also known as Shino-Nami Middle School, had only a few students who went on to Kyou-Nishi. Even if you counted the second and third years, you could count the alumni on one hand, so any information about the two was limited to what they said.

“After all, it is Shino-Nami. They’d never come here.”

Uenohara spoke as if it were natural.

“Oh, do you know anything?”

“…Ahh, right. You wouldn’t know, Kouhei, because you’re an easterner.”

Uenohara nodded her head in agreement.

Even though it’s the same prefecture, there’s always been a disconnect between the basin area where Kyougoku-shi is located and my parents’ home in the east. Even today, the phenomenon exists, and I, too, am lacking in common knowledge that isn’t part of what I’ve investigated.

After all, the places we visit on vacation have no overlap. We instead go to the big city next door because it’s closer.

“It’s quite famous around these partsthe basin area. In a bad way, though.

“Is that so?”

“After all, it was pretty wild there for a while.”

Aha, I see. …It’s no surprise so few of them went on to our school. Could that be the reason for Katsunuma’s delinquent behavior in the countryside? As expected, I sense that the key to it all is somewhere in there…

The bell rang, signaling the end of lunch break.

Uenohara placed her finished bento in a simple checkered drawstring bag and tied it up.

“Anyway, I’ll conduct the investigation. Shino-Nami is known for its strong sports clubs, so I’ll ask my middle school friends for more information. It could take some time.”

“Sure. Sorry for causing you so much trouble.”

“Kouhei, what about you? Is there anything planned?”

“I’ll be gearing up for the next Event. After all, the timing is very specific, and it is dependent on the weather. Some investigation would be ideal so everything is ready to go.”

“Oh?”

I got to my feet and slapped my hips.

“I’ll need your help with that as well at some point. I’ll increase the number of cake slices, so please assist me.”

“Then make it a whole cake.”

“Do you think that’s going a little too far?”

Does she know the meaning of humility…?

*

A few days later.

After finishing my meal, I sat in a window seat and chatted with classmates (and gathering information). When there was a pause in the conversation, I looked out the window.

The sky was obscured by thick clouds, and there was no blue in sight. In fact, the sun hadn’t even shown up for some time.

According to the forecast this morning, the rainy season will begin tomorrow, and the weather for this week will be a remarkable sequence of rain, rain, and rain.

Maybe it’s time for the next event.

I’ve gotten a general idea of my classmates’ behavioral tendencies through preliminary investigations. Although I would have preferred more samples, the deadline is this weekend, so compromises must be made.

Now that that’s decided, the first thing I need to do is reserve a rehearsal space.

I took out my smartphone and searched for “Akanegaoka Gym Reservation.”

Let’s see, the available reservation dates are…

“Please, class rep, move.”

Suddenly, I heard a girl’s voice from behind me.

Hmm, so she’s back, is she?

“My bad. I didn’t mean to get in the way.”

I stepped to the side, away from where I was standing in front of the person’s seat.

“It’s fine.”

She answered, waving one hand. Maybe a bit blunt, but straightforward and not at all offensive.

She’s the next subjugation target—a sub-character named Koizumi Ao. The central figure of the “Sports Club Group,” which is primarily made up of members of the girls’ sports club.

Koizumi-san sat down on the seat I had vacated and quickly brushed her short-cut bangs aside.

I had been waiting for her to return because she always eats lunch outside with her clubmates.

Maybe it’s time for the “Communication Part,” and some foreshadowing for the next event.

I read the information from the Tomodachi Note in my head before calling out to her.

Koizumi Ao. Student Number 13. Member of the Handball Club. Romcom Aptitude D.

A tall figure with slender limbs and short hair. A sports club girl with sharp, narrow eyes and a cool demeanor.

She rarely talks much, which makes her appear cold, but on the inside, she’s a fiery woman. When something involves a competition, her personality changes. She prefers uncomplicated things and despises those that are difficult or tedious.

She was also the captain of the handball team in middle school. She’s currently running the club in place of the second-year students, who were initially few.

As is typical for sports clubs, club activity takes precedence for her, and she is uninterested in what happens in class. But she’s the focal point of the sports club girls. She’s an excellent leader, but unlike in club activities, she doesn’t demonstrate such qualities in class.

Also, she doesn’t seem to like Katsunuma, and while she doesn’t directly clash with her, she avoids her whenever possible.

End of excerpt from the Tomodachi Note.

My friendship with Koizumi-san is neither good nor bad. We may converse when we come across each other, but our relationship is nothing special.

Her Romcom Aptitude is also low at D, so there was no reason for me to work on her proactively. If there was something like Fighting Spirit Aptitude or Battle Aptitude, she would have easily gotten an A.

All right, here we go.

“That reminds me of something, Koizumi-san. I heard there will be an exhibition match with Tsukiyama High soon.”

“Huh? Yeah, that’s right.”

She looked up at me with a “Why so suddenly?” expression on her face.

Well, I rarely make small talk with her like this. It’s impossible to avoid the impression that it’s a little out of place.

“Actually, why do you know that, class rep?”

“Ah, I know some folks from Tsukiyama’s Handball Club. They told me of it.”

In reality, it was information I’d obtained from the “Saotome Folk” in another class, but I figured she’d be more interested if I mentioned the enemy’s name.

“Really? You have ties to Tsukiyama?”

She smiled assertively as she turned half her body toward me and rested an elbow on her backrest.

Bingo. With Koizumi-san, it’s easier to communicate with her if you think of her as a character in a sports manga when attacking.

“Their team is a force to be reckoned with. Do you think you can win?”

“We’re obviously playing to win, you know? Tell your acquaintance that they’re about to lose.”

Koizumi’s narrow eyes sparkled like hawk eyes, and the corners of her mouth lifted. Without a doubt, not the face of a character in a romantic comedy. The background sound effects would be something more like “Gogogogo” or “Zuzuzuzu.”

“You’re only interested in club activities right now, as I anticipated.”

“Huh? What do you mean?”

“So, I was considering the upcoming cleanup activity. According to our seniors, it will be quite lively, and there will be a battle aspect, so I believe it will be interesting.”

I cut to the chase and waited for her reaction.

Koizumi-san frowned angrily and waved her hands.

“It isn’t about interest, it’s just that goofing off isn’t in my nature. If we’re doing it for real, I’ll be in it to win, but taking it seriously would be a waste of time.”

If everyone is seriouslegit, I’ll join in, but otherwise, I’m not interested. That is where the Assertiveness points are considered. Maybe it ultimately depends on the atmosphere or that she has no desire to take the initiative.

Even so, her presence is so impactful that everyone is drawn along by her actions. She’d be a super reliable person if she was just a little more responsible.

“I’m really excited about it, but… If you feel like getting serious, Koizumi-san, why don’t you help us all get into the groove?”

“I’ll pass on that. Or, more precisely, there’s no point in doing it if it’s something I was told to do.”

She turned to face the front after saying this as if to signal the end of the conversation.

Hmm, so convincing Koizumi-san was impossible. I guess there was no way for words to work on this person.

To subjugate her, I must carry out the Event as planned.

“Ugh. So you’re trying to make friends with the sports clubs now, senpai? Isn’t that shameful?”

I sighed inwardly as such a comment came from the classroom door. The air in the classroom became hazy, and the volume of everyone’s conversation slightly decreased.

Damn you, Katsunuma. So you’ve returned.

I saw Katsunuma leading her group into the classroom while using my peripheral vision technique to avoid detection.

The single remark earlier was the end, and she had no plans to intervene directly. When my actions involve Tokiwa, she seems to become more proactive.

“That kind of foul play is the most irritating.”

Koizumi-san sighed and muttered to herself, frowning in disgust.

Ahh, they’re still cats and dogs, aren’t they? In any case, they don’t get along, no matter how you look at it. They are both combative, despite being on different vectors.

With that in mind, I resumed the interrupted reservation process.

*

“So you’re saying that sports are the theme of this Event?”

“That’s correct. You must pit a musclebrain against a musclebrain, and forcing a sports competition with that type of person is the simplest method.”

“Is that how you came up with this?”

Uenohara lightly bounced the volleyball in her hand against the floor.

We were at Akanegaoka Sports Park, which is about a 10-minute bike ride north of Kyou-Nishi.

We gathered in the small gymnasium here after school to prepare for the “Sports Club Group Conquest Event,” also known as the “Volleyball Battle Event.”

“I was wondering what was going on when you suddenly messaged me saying, ‘Meet at Akanegaoka in your jersey.’ That came out of nowhere.”

She had changed into a short-sleeved jersey when we met. She was in perfect exercise mode, with her hair pulled up into a ponytail near the top.

“Sorry, but today was the only slot they had available. You see, I wanted to get on the court at least once before the real thing.”

I’d been preparing for the event while Uenohara was investigating Katsunuma, so there hadn’t been time to coordinate ahead of time.

Akanegaoka Sports Park is a city-run sports facility, and people from outside the city can rent the gymnasium if they make a reservation. Because the usage fees are reasonable, it made my Spot Note list for sports-related events.

“Actually, I have a lot of questions for you…”

Uenohara caught the bouncing ball and held it under her arm.

“You mentioned using PE class, but isn’t it now track and field? And next week will be a dance.”

“Right. But, on rainy days when we can’t play on the field, don’t we do endurance runs in the gym? I intend to make use of the time that remains after that.”

“Seriously? I had no idea because it had never rained during our PE classes before.”

Hmm, I see.

In our school, two classes get combined for PE. Class 3 next door has the same schedule as us, but Class 5’s is on different days and times, so it’s possible.

“Is there even time to fool around? Isn’t this a regular class?”

“It’s called endurance running, but you’re done after ten laps of the gym, so it’s pretty light. Those in sports clubs can do it quickly, and since any extra time is treated as free time, I’m thinking about taking advantage of it. After all, there is no teacher supervision.”

Presumably, because it isn’t part of the original curriculum, the teacher in charge is only present at the start and end and does nothing like take the time or verify completion. To put it another way, you only need to be in the gym at the beginning and end of your gym session, allowing you to use the time between freely.

Those who dislike exercise typically return to the school building to pass the time, such as Anayama and the others in cultural clubs. Those who enjoy being active usually stay at the gym and sweat it out with some sport.

Koizumi-san belongs to the latter, while the Katsunuma Group, a risk factor, belongs to the former.

“According to preliminary research, the majority of the boys play basketball and the majority of the girls play volleyball. But there’s too much of a gender gap in basketball.”

“So, that’s why you chose volleyball.”         

Uenohara moved her arms in the shape of a receiver and juggled the ball up and down as she spoke.

People who can do things like that naturally will also have good reflexes. It’s exactly what I hoped for.

“There are also rules for mixed gender volleyball matches. I’m considering using those as a point of reference to challenge Koizumi-san to a deathmatch.”

“Aren’t deathmatches a different kind of genre?”

“Whoa, that was a very otaku-like tsukkomi. Good job.”

“…Seriously? That’s bad. I need to be careful.”

Uenohara took a deep breath with a start as if to gather herself.

Why are you being so cagey? It’s a good thing, you know. You’re getting closer to happiness.

“So, what are your plans for the match?”

“I plan to include a condition that if I win, they must participate in the cleanup activity. I did some light foreshadowing earlier in the day during lunch, so I’ll put together a scenario that builds on that.”

“…Will that be all right?”

Uenohara muttered to herself as she furrowed her brow.

Yeah, that’s definitely a “You can’t do sports, right?” face.

“You know it’ll be bad if you lose, right?”

“I can’t afford to lose.”

I responded right away.

“Hmm… You’re quite certain, aren’t you? Are you actually good at volleyball?”

“I’m a beginner.”

“In which case, do you intend to hold your own with the Friends Group?”

“Nope, I’m going to delegate team selection to the opposing party. After all, if I stir things up by saying something like, “Pick whoever you want, I’ll win with any team,” she’ll be more likely to accept the challenge.”

“…Won’t that make it impossible?”

Uenohara looked at me as if I had said something crazy.

It’s not impossible.

“Well, if we don’t have enough people, the match won’t take place, so we’ll need at least ten boys and girls. In any case, I’m not going down without a fight.”

“Okay… You’re going to get through this with a cheap trick, just like you did with the lottery, aren’t you?”

“Did you say ‘a cheap trick’?”

It’s difficult to tell whether she’s complimenting me or not.

“Also, don’t just assume I’ll be doing something. I’m just going to give it my all.”

I finished putting the net up, ignoring Uenohara, who was still baffled.

“This should be all right. First and foremost, please teach me how to spike.”

“…Wait a minute. Why would we begin there?”

Uenohara paused for a moment as if the thought hadn’t occurred to her.

“Didn’t I tell you I’m a beginner? I’ve never played volleyball outside of PE class.”

“But it’s the same for me.”

“It’ll be fine. My goal is to be able to serve, receive, and toss like most people. Because the rules prohibit jumping serves, your coaching doesn’t need to be that advanced.”

“Are you listening?”

Uenohara bounced the ball against the floor.

“Couldn’t you have just asked Tokiwa-kun? He’s good at sports in general, not just basketball, right?”

“True, I would have preferred a friendly Practice Event with the Friends Group. But there isn’t time to set up the official ‘setting’ for the volleyball event, and everyone has been preoccupied with after-school club activities, so it can’t be helped.”

Basically, the Main Characters are stretched thin. It’s already difficult to schedule something like a Going-Home Event, but the situation makes it tougher to gather everyone for an event that requires an amount of time, such as today’s practice. There’s also the question of how I’ll save that type of event for the sports festival.

“Like I said, what’s the point of asking another amateur like myself?”

“At the very least, you must be better than me. You’re probably also good at teaching.”

“You’re not basing this on anything, are you?”

“But, of course, I am. You are, after all, Uenohara.”

“Huh?”

“Anything I’m unable to do, you can do for me. Isn’t that right, Accomplice?”

“…”

To begin with, she embodies the epitome of an all-around superhuman. She seemed able to carry out the investigation techniques that had taken me a year to perfect, so I’m sure she knows a thing or two about volleyball.

After a few blinks, Uenohara grabbed her hair, which was tied into a ponytail, and brushed it to the side with an uneasy look.

“…Jeez. What exactly do you think people are?”

Then, with a small sigh, she threw the ball at me with some force.

“I’ll warn you ahead of time that I’m no expert. I can only make something that looks like the real thing.”

“That’s fine. It’s not like I’m terrible at sports, either. Don’t worry, I don’t jump with my eyes closed or attack my face.”

“Nobody does that.”

“You know, there are people in the worldromantic comedy who do.”

However, if I were a creature-like small fry, I might have been able to organize a more interesting event…

Uenohara sighed, then turned around and walked, her face expressionless.

“…Anyway, I’ll give it a shot. Keep the ball in place.”

“Okay~.”

I readily agreed and dashed to the net.

Uenohara took a seat in the center of the right side of the court and stretched her arms out to the left and right alternately. She then leaped up and down on the spot.

Oh, just like the real thing. That warm-up exercise makes her feel like a real athlete. Or, more accurately, she used to be a member of the track and field club. That’s the case.

“I’m ready.”

Uenohara nodded, clearly ready.

I made a large tossing motion with the ball.

Uenohara came running up to me her steps forming a good rhythm.

Smooth footwork with flexible arm movement.

Uenohara leaped into the air with a light tapping noise.

“Hup!”

The spike caught the ball right in the center and stabbed it into the opponent’s court.

“Phew… I’m glad I was able to hit it.”

She landed softly on her feet and quickly adjusted her rumpled bangs.

“…Aren’t you a little too good at this?”

No, I knew she was capable, but still. Wasn’t her jump’s height and power comparable to that of a professional? Even though we’re both amateurs, isn’t our difference similar to that of a varsity player and a volleyball mom?

If the camera was turned around, her stomach would definitely be visible. But not from my end…

“I applied my high jump experience to the stepping motion. From my first year of middle school.”

“Ah…”

“And for the arm movement, I imagined a badminton smash. I used to dabble in that as well.”

“R-right…”

“…But I think this is pretty normal. Was it really that surprising?”

Uenohara tilted her head in genuine astonishment.

I-I won’t lose! Just you wait, I’ll make up for the difference in talentspecs with a lot of practice!


Previous (Vol. 2 Ch. 2 Pt. 3) | Next (Vol. 2 Ch. 2 Pt. 5)

1 thought on “Genjitsu de Rabukome Dekinai to Dare ga Kimeta? Vol. 2 Ch. 2 Pt. 4”

Leave a comment